A Taste of Things to Come…

26 Aug

I know I have been a horrible blogger lately. I feel guilty posting from work and posting from home is almost impossible. But I wanted to give everyone a brief update with the promise of elaboration as soon as I get a chance.

* Two of my good friends decided to throw me a baby shower since no one in my family seemed willing to step up to the plate. Just as soon as they started planning my mother announced that she would be throwing a SEPARATE shower for family members only and became super competitive with my poor friends.

* Last Wednesday someone crashed into Hubby’s car while it was parked outside of our home. It’s totalled.

* I am trying to figure out how to get back into school and start my graduate program without having to reapply. It was looking good for awhile, but I’ve hit some road blocks.

* They are still telling us Hubby is first on the transplant list – but is on hold until he gets cleared by THEIR surgeons. No one ever returns our phone calls.

* Babies seem to  be doing good…but Lennon gets up in my ribs now and it is SOOO painful that it almost brought me to my knees in the middle of the mall the other day. I have been asked twice while in public if I am in labor.

12 Responses to “A Taste of Things to Come…”

  1. Sarah August 26, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    I’m so sorry you are encountering such difficulties. I really hope that someone gets back to you very soon about your husband. The waiting must be terrible.
    I’m glad the babies are doing alright, but please, babies, stay away from Momma’s ribs! It’s amazing that babies can cause so much pain.
    Sounds like your Mom could be a little more considerate, maybe ask her for a new car for a shower gift!
    This too shall pass, I pray it does very soon.

  2. Away2me August 26, 2008 at 12:11 pm #

    Um WOW! Firstly sorry on hubby’s car wreck. I hope he gets cleared by his own surgeons ASAP. And OUCH to the babies kicking you so hard you drop to your knees! OWIE.

  3. Jill August 26, 2008 at 12:13 pm #

    Happy to hear the babies are doing well…sorry they are karate chopping your ribs!! Bless your heart.

    I’ll be praying for your husband…doctor’s offices suck sometimes.

    Hope all goes well with the shower planning…I want you to be able to just enjoy it, you deserve that.

    ((HUGS))

  4. Io August 26, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    Heh – it figures that now you’re having two baby showers instead of none at all! Yay!
    I hope that everything with the transplant stuff gets worked out – and soon. It’d be nice if he got it before the babies came.

  5. Io August 26, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    And next time somebody asks if you’re going into labor, i vote you say “I’m not pregnant, wtf is wrong with you??!’ hehehehe

  6. BlueBella August 26, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh I remember the days of pushing baby butts out from under my ribcage! LOL
    They’re getting big and that’s awesome – even if it doesn’t feel good to you:)
    Sorry about the other stuff. Hope things get better!

  7. Michelle August 26, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    Don’t feel bad about the lax posting. I think everyone has slowed down a bit in blog land lately. Maybe it is because of summer.

    Dang big bummer about Hub’s car! That’s all you needed right now, another expense.

    Fingers crossed about the transplant!

    Silly baby getting into your ribs. I’ve heard that is seriously painful. 😦 Hopefully she doesn’t do it often.

    Here’s to hoping it all gets better!

  8. S August 26, 2008 at 6:48 pm #

    Hi stranger!! I miss your updates!!! Sorry about all the craziness going on but I must admit that I giggled when you said people are asking if you are in labor!! At least the general public is concerned!! Hang in there and post when you can!

  9. twondra August 27, 2008 at 3:29 am #

    Wow…you sure have gone through alot. I hope things settle down.

  10. sara August 27, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    Sorry about your husband’s car, and I’ll keep him in my thoughts and prayers that he gets off that transplant list in no time and home with his new organ! You made me giggle when someone asked you if you were going into labor. But I hope the little ones give you a tad bit of a rest in the kicking and jabbing department 🙂

  11. Ms. J August 27, 2008 at 4:47 am #

    Hope this doesn’t sound awful but since you ARE having twins . . . let your Mom be all competitive when it comes to the showers – you will need twice the stuff anyway, and so few people wanna buy the higher-end (cost) items like car seats and strollers and whatnot. If your GOOD friends ask what you’d like, be honest and tell them what you will need most are diapers and wipes, or a gift card.

    Sorry about the car troubles – that happened to my husband’s car 4 days before we got married, so I understand crappy timing! And while the dr.’s are frustrating you, it IS good news to hear your husband has moved to the top!

  12. samcy August 27, 2008 at 6:00 am #

    Sorry to hear about hubby’s car – at least he was not in the car when the other silly person hit it! (was he?) Great news about the 2 baby showers – try not focus on the competition but on the joy you will get out of them 😉

    Hope your hubby’s transplant gets sorted out sooner rather than later!

    HUGS!!!

Leave a Reply

