I have another question…

13 Aug

I have a really good friend (one of the two who is planning my shower) who’s two year old daughter has MRSA. The two friends are getting together tonight to make my baby shower invites and I *REALLY* want to go and spend some “girl” time and help them put things together…BUT I am so scared of getting MRSA!! She has it in her ears and she had it at one point as a diaper rash, but I think that might be cleared up now.

What should I do?

I asked my OB about it at one point and he said it was fine, to just wash my hands a lot…

But I’m still scared. If these babies come early AND somehow catch MRSA from me that would be very, very bad.

Ideas??

Also (I wanted to post this yesterday, but I was on a business trip in Santa Barbara)…

WE MADE IT TO 24 WEEKS!!!!!!

I can’t even tell you how good that feels! I am SOO excited, I am so relived…this is actually starting to feel like it’s GOING to happen. Wow.

17 Responses to “I have another question…”

  1. Lauren August 13, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    I’m really happy for you!
    Also, I’d probably err on the side of caution and not spend too much time around the baby. I don’t know too much about MRSA…I just feel like why take chances? (Not that you can lock yourself in a room for your entire pregnancy though!)

  2. sara August 13, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    Happy 24 weeks! I tend to be cautious when it comes to stuff like this. More than likely you would be fine – at the hospital I work around MRSA pts all the time and we never get it ourselves. But when it comes to possible preemie babies…I always err on the side of caution. You’ll probably be fine either way, and just go with your gut on this one 🙂

  3. twondra August 13, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    Congrats on making it to 24 weeks!

    I’d be careful about the MRSA….can never be too cautious. You’d never forgive yourself if something happened, would you?

    I hope things work out!!

  4. Jo August 13, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    You should be ok.. As a MRSA “family” been through it all many times. Yes, wash your hands, and the baby is probably not contagious unless the wounds are oozing/weeping. Just use commom sense. More people have this then you know. You can always get your nose swapped to be tested as well.
    Just my thoughts from a MRSA-leper : O

  5. annacyclopedia August 13, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    Yeah, just go with your gut. I would struggle with it, too – it’s a hard decision. Not like you can avoid your friend and her daughter forever, right?

    Hurrah for 24 weeks! So exciting!

  6. Alicia August 13, 2008 at 3:10 pm #

    That’s a hard decision. I, as a nurse, stuggle with little things, thinking that when I get pregnant how worried I’ll be. I can’t take transplant patients, for a number of reasons, but I have to becareful about CDiff, MRSA, VRE, the list goes on and on.
    Personally, if the MRSA is just in her ears, then you’ll be ok– as long as you have no open wounds. However, I would carry hand sanitizer, wash your hands frequently, and most importantly do not touch your eyes, ears, mouth, etc. I would not eat food that has been made there, because you are a higher risk of catching it if someone touched her ears then touched food, etc.
    I sure hope she gets better and don’t be too afraid, it’s been around forever…but you don’t want to do things to try to catch it ya know?
    Congrats on the 24 weeks!

  7. Michell August 13, 2008 at 5:37 pm #

    Congrats on 24 weeks.
    As far as the MRSA, I too would worry (and do, I work in a hospital). If she has it in her ears it’s probably not likely you will catch it however if she has had it before also she is likely colonized by it and it’s something that will pop up off and on during her life. For you, if you do go I agree with Alicia. Wash hands a lot. Avoid the child, don’t touch eyes, nose, mouth and try not to eat food.

  8. Mama August 13, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Congratulations on 24 weeks! You’re just a day ahead of me! If I were you, I’d stay away. It sucks, but just not worth the risk.

  9. noswimmers August 13, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    I agree with some of the others–STAY AWAY! While I’m sure you would be fine and wouldn’t catch anything…IF (God forbid) something happened, you wouldn’t want to question your decision. Trust me on this…I question every decision I made around the time we lost the girls. You dont’ want to put yourself through that.

  10. ultimatejourney August 14, 2008 at 3:01 am #

    Yay for 24 weeks! I’d definitely stay away from the MRSA. Better safe than sorry.

  11. Sherri August 14, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    Congratulations on making it to 24 weeks!! If it were me, I would NOT go over to your friend’s house. MRSA is such a scary thing and is so unpredictable. I’m sure she would understand that you have to put your health and the health of your babies first.

  12. BlueBella August 14, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    Congratulations on 24 weeks! Yeeeaaaaaahhhhh!!!!!!
    They are still super tiny, but viable! Keep them in there a bunch longer, Mama – but pretty soon you’ll have two perfect little girls to hold in your arms 🙂

  13. Away2me August 14, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    Whoo hooo 24 weeks. Congrats I’m 10 weeks behind you. LOL

    I have no idea on the MRSA.

  14. Ms. J August 14, 2008 at 1:42 pm #

    If it were me . . . I’d fake “something” (exhaustion?, or an excuse from your dr. that you can’t be exposed to it) and bail on the slightest chance of any risk.

    I thought about you often in China, since I had problems accessing your site while there (were the Chinese blocking you, LOL?!) I AM SOOOOO FREAKIN’ EXCITED ABOUT YOU BEING PAST 24 WEEKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. Michelle August 14, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    I say stay away, but I am a panicky person like you. I would just rather be safe than sorry. I’m sure your friends will understand your reasons for staying away.

    WOOHOO about the 24 weeks! I knew you’d make it!

  16. Io August 14, 2008 at 6:41 pm #

    Yay! 24 weeks! Um, I would not go, even not being pregnant.

  17. samcy August 15, 2008 at 5:00 am #

    Whooo Hooooo on 24 weeks milestone!!!! 🙂

    Not sure about the MRSA but go with your gut, if you’re worried rather stay away in my opinion…

Leave a Reply

