A Work in Progress

5 Aug

Sorry guys, I’m still computerless. I think I am going to have the funds by next week to order my new toy, but it won’t be here for a week or two (or more). ::pout::

In addition to my laptop dying I also dropped my cell phone into a glass of juice – so obviously I had to buy a new one of those as well. On the bright side I bought a Sidekick with internet access, so perhaps I will be able to resume blogging more regularly from that once it arrives (tomorrow).

All is well in twin land. I had an appointment last Friday which was – TOTALLY UNEVENTFUL! Yeah! I know!!

The doctor did a pelvic exam and said that the infection is gone and no fluid is leaking. He did say that I came back positive for Strep B, but that’s no biggie – particularly since I will most likely have to have a C section.

I was a bit surprised that the doctor said that he did not need to see me again for another four weeks…I’ll be 27 weeks by then (almost 28). I was expecting to be seen every two weeks starting at 24 weeks, isn’t that the norm? Oh well, if anything happens I’ll go in of course.

The dog is still with us. Snotty girl never did put up posters so he will not be going back to her I guess. He is so, so, SO sweet…he has been sleeping with Hubby and I and is better behaved than the two monsters that we already have. I really wish we could keep him, but my parents said no way in hell. He is going to live with a friend of my father’s tomorrow. =(

Sorry that this is such a bland, boring blog after going so long without posting…but everything has been (blissfully) quiet for once.

I did have two things that I wouldn’t mind getting opinions on though:

1) I have a prenatal massage booked for next Monday, but the only person they had available to do it was a MAN. I am not sure how I feel about that. This will only be my third massage in my life and the first two were with women….Have any of you had a male masseuse? Would you?

2) My best friend is flying out for a visit next month and was planning on being here for the baby shower, HOWEVER, she can only come Wednesday through Saturday and has to fly out on Saturday morning. My mother (surprise, surprise) pitched a total fit when I asked what she thought about having the shower on a Friday…She said that no one would come and that we would have to have it too late at night.

My two (wonderful) friends who have decided to put this shower on for me think that I should fight to have it on a Friday anyway…but they don’t know my mom like I do. Ever heard of winning the battle but losing the war?

I’m sure I could convince her to let them throw it on a Friday, but in how many other ways would she make me suffer as a result? ::shudder::

As much as I would lovemy BFF to be there for this, I don’t think I could handle the level of stress that would be required to make that happen. Is that horrible of me?

12 Responses to “A Work in Progress”

  1. Carrie August 5, 2008 at 2:34 pm #

    I’m glad you kept the puppy. He obviously deserves a better home.

    I have had male and female masseures and honestly, I liked the guy better.

  2. Away2me August 5, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    I’ve never had a male masseuse but I think I’d be okay with it. Glad the dog is with you, wish you could keep him. LOL

    As for the baby shower, can you call the invitees in advance and see if Friday evening works for them? Heck, I’d like to do a Friday evening thing versus a Saturday shower.

  3. Lost in Space August 5, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    I’m glad you are enjoying the dog. I’m sure he is much happier now too.

    I would prefer a Friday evening shower if it is close to where I live. Traffic on Fridays can be hectic so if too many people will be travelling, this could be an issue for some.

  4. Annearchy August 5, 2008 at 6:51 pm #

    That dog is so lucky to be rescued by you… twice! Sorry you can’t keep it though. I am glad the check up went good. Hey don’t get into a fight with your mom for me. I would love to be there for the baby shower but I am just glad I get to see you! Don’t feel bad the aftermath with your mom is sooooo not worth it! I know you love me but even I would not start world war III over me!! I can’t wait to see you. We can just be lazy bums for all I care as long as I get to see you!

  5. BlueBella August 5, 2008 at 7:25 pm #

    So glad to hear things are uneventful now!!!!! That’s the way we want it. And . . .welcome to viability, girlies! Woo hoo you made it (not that we didn’t think you would) and just keep on baking happily in there, alright?
    As for the shower . . not a lot of wisdom here but if your girlfriends are throwing it it’s their decision when to have it, right? But I get you about winning the battle and losing the war. Some things just aren’t worth it, even if it is about you and your babies and not your Mom.
    Anywho – so glad you’re doing so well.

  6. twondra August 6, 2008 at 3:04 am #

    Glad you kept the dog! I don’t know if I could have a man….I’d perfer a woman, but that’s just me. 🙂 good luck!!

  7. Sherri August 6, 2008 at 3:55 am #

    I’ve only had massages by men and they’ve all been incredibly professional. Of course the last one was blind (no…I’m NOT kidding) but still. When you think about, they see so many naked bodies that they probably don’t even notice them anymore.

  8. Jill August 6, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    I only get my massages from women. LOL I think I would feel weird about a man doing it but that’s just me. I’m sure it will be fine, as long as you are comfortable with it.

    If you are going to have stress from your Momma for having it on Friday…I wouldn’t chance it, the last thing you need right now is stress.

    Glad everything is going so well!! Are you getting the pink Dell?? *jealous* 🙂

  9. Babychaser August 6, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Honestly, if things are going all right with your mom, I’d give in and go with the Saturday shower. You can’t move out, and she’s proven how toxic she can be. You’ll have lots of quality time with your BFF before the party, and maybe letting your mom have her way will keep the peace a little longer.

    Just my opinion. I’m a little scared of the emotional damage some mothers can inflict when they want, so I’m all for appeasement if you don’t lose too much in the process. God, I can’t wait until you can get out of there.

    Hang tight, and enjoy your shower! Can’t think of a girl that’s earned it more.

  10. Michelle August 7, 2008 at 5:36 pm #

    Good thing and bummer about the dog. Too bad you can’t keep him. 😦

    As for the dude masseuse (sp?), yep, been there done that. Here’s my take on it: He rubs down chicks all day long and he sees all shapes and sizes. Chances of him remembering you are slim. Chances of him judging you are even more slim. Chances of him getting aroused are slim (not that you aren’t completely sexy!). You pay him, he rubs you, you go home. If it is a sel-esteem thing, just remember it doesn’t matter. I am going to go get a massage once I hit week 15. I’ve been getting them for over a year and a half now (minus the last 4 months) and I don’t care who rubs me as long as its good. ;p

  11. Mama August 10, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    I wouldn’t get a massage from a dude. But, I also said that I would never go to a male OB and, well, that didn’t work out too well. But I still wouldn’t get a man-ssage.

  12. nancy August 12, 2008 at 8:49 pm #

    I’ve been going to a massage therapist for almost 3 years now. And he’s a man. I had gone to females before (just happened to get females) and I like the guy better. He’s got stronger hands and well, the massage is just better. Massages are NOT sexual in any manner and even though I’m naked, nothing ever shows. It’s past the time you got your massage, so I hope it was good!

Leave a Reply

