Strange Happenings

30 Jul

Yes, I’m still here. Sorry I’ve been so quiet lately, my lap top died over the weekend and I spent what little money I had to put towards anything trying to get it fixed. Turns out that wasn’t the most brilliant idea because it’s the hard drive going out. Niiice. At least I was able to get most of my files off of the hunk of junk – no thanks to Best Buy who charged me an arm and a leg and then told me that they couldn’t fix it. Luckily Hubby has a friend who is a super savy tech dude who was able to work some magic.

So now I am trying to figure out how I am going to scrape together the moola for the adorable pink Dell that I have my eye on…::sigh::

In pregnancy land things are going alright still. I am much less crazy since going back to work – although I did end up in L & D again about a week ago. I started having intense pressure in my groin and lower abdominal area so I called the hospital just to be sure and they told me to come in for a NST and a cervix check. All was well. In fact, shortly after that I BALLOONED (right after the picture I posted in fact). I am now big as a moose, but the pressure let up a bit so I think it was just a space issue. =)

I also have to share a story with you all because it’s just too strange not to.

Last Thursday I was on my way to work and the CUTEST little dog (part Chihuahua and part Pug) ran into the street and almost met his end beneath my car. I pulled over to see if I could get him off the road so he didn’t end up smooshed and he turned out to be the friendliest little guy! He pretty much jumped right into my arms from the get go. I saw a house with an open garage a few houses down from where I found him so I figured that was where he got out of – nope. The people who lived there looked at me like I was nuts. I guess a hugely pregnant woman banging on someone’s door at 9am with a tiny fur ball in one hand might be sort of a strange sight…

Anyhow, I posted fliers and after three days of hearing nothing I decided to post him on Craig’s List and fine the lil guy a new home. I found one within 5 minutes of posting the ad (no joke!) and dropped him off over the weekend. OF COURSE later on the next day someone called saying that they had lost their dog. Perfect. So I went, got the dog back, deposited him with his owner (a snotty teenage girl who never said so much as thank you or acted concerned about the dog).

Flash forward to yesterday morning. I open the front door to leave for work and before I could even get a foot out the door the SAME dog was IN my house like he belonged there! Tail wagging and soaking wet.

The owners were two streets away and half a block down from my house, how STRANGE is it that this dog came right back to us!? That must have been quite a trek for his tiny little legs!

So now I have a dilemma. I really don’t want to give the dog back to that girl. The dog is underweight, it’s a few years old and NOT neutered, and OBVIOUSLY it gets out all the time. It would break my heart if I gave him back a second time and then found him plastered to the road one morning. My father has a friend at work who wants the dog but cannot take him until he gets back from vacation in a week. I am thinking that I am going to wait and see if this chick puts up any posters or anything during that time and then decide from there. I doubt she will…she didn’t last time and it took her 3 whole days to respond to mine!

What do you think?

24 Responses to “Strange Happenings”

  1. Carrie July 30, 2008 at 11:49 am #

    Sounds like he’s running away and thinks you’re a better home. I see your dilemma… you *know* where he goes, but I wouldn’t want to return him to them either. The wait-and-see approach sounds good… as long as none of the neighbors notice you in your back yard with him and tattle.

  2. M July 30, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    Welcome back to blogland!!

    I think that you’re absolutely right to hold off on doing giving the dog back until and unless you hear or see anything from his current owner. And, if she doesn’t post anything (or come looking) you should give the dog to someone who’s going to care for him the way he should be cared for.

  3. Io July 30, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    Liberate the dog!

  4. Kate July 30, 2008 at 1:14 pm #

    The exac thing happened to my mom when her next door neighbors kept letting their cute new puppy out. After about the third time, she told them she was going to find it a new home, which she did. His name is curly and he is very happy. If they don’t care enough to fence him in properly then give him to someone who will! 🙂

  5. Jendeis July 30, 2008 at 1:31 pm #

    Cutest. dog. ever.

  6. Lauren July 30, 2008 at 1:53 pm #

    Oh my gosh, he’s so cute! I’d have a really hard time turning him back over to the girl. I think your plan of waiting a week then giving him a good home sounds good!

  7. Away2me July 30, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    I took a dog that was our our street wander to the pound. The owners got him back and 3 days later he was back loose again. Makes me so frickin mad. I’d be going nuts if one of my dogs was missing, I’d be shoving money and hugging anyone who saved my dog.

    I’d find that dog a new home with someone who will love and appreciate him. He’s cute.

  8. Michell July 30, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    I think he’s cute. I’d wait and see if she posted ads of him missing or not too.

  9. Mama July 30, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    i wouldn’t return him. Do exactly as you say — wait to see if she posts him as missing. The little snotface doesn’t deserve him!

    BTW, we have almost the same due date. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Added you to my blogroll.

  10. Cece July 30, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    Keep him!

  11. Orodemniades July 30, 2008 at 6:18 pm #

    What dog? You haven’t seen any dog coming around your house again…

  12. Lost in Space July 30, 2008 at 6:21 pm #

    He is a cutie. I would hold onto him for a bit too and see if they try to find him. It sounds like he could be better off in a new place.

    Sorry to hear about your laptop and trip to the ER. Those girls sure are keeping you busy already. (:

  13. twondra July 31, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    He’s soooo cute! It breaks my heart to see dogs mistreated. I would see if she puts up flyers or anything, but it would be hard for me to give the dog back. Good luck with that!!

  14. Sherri July 31, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    Keep him! That girl doesn’t deserve him and obviously the dog remembers the gentle care you gave him and wants some more of that!

  15. Sarah July 31, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    Keep the dog! (or if you can’t do it permanently until the guy gets back) Animals are a priviledge and should be treated as such. If she doesn’t do anything to get him back, consider him (and you) free of any obligation to her.

  16. sara July 31, 2008 at 8:24 am #

    That is one cute doggie! I think holding on to the dog until you hear from the girl – and if you don’t then either keep it or find it another great home. But you sound like you have a heart of gold for the little furry friends – and I’m glad it found you!

  17. Jill July 31, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    Keep that poor little puppy and give it to a good owner…that’s what I say. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by and saying hello! I’m happy to hear all is well with you !

    Oh, and I had the same thing happen to my computer…Geek Squad is worthless…couldn’t save a thing on my hard drive. 😦

  18. hopeful July 31, 2008 at 1:47 pm #

    My God, how many chances does that family want with a precious little thing. It may be that he is crafty at getting out but still, come on, after getting him back once you would be so greatful and be looking for what ever hole he had gotten out of already!
    You are doing the right thing, wait and see, if no out pouring of grief to be had, find the guy a new home where he will be treated like a king.

  19. martha July 31, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    keep him and find him a new home. i had the same thing happen about 2 months ago and i found the puppy a new home – clearly the don’t deserve the dog

  20. kim August 1, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    I think by coming back again he’s asking you to do just that! So many people get in over their heads with a dog and then don’t exactly neglect, but don’t exactly take care of them. He’d be so much better off in a home where he is truly wanted.

  21. noswimmers August 3, 2008 at 7:56 am #

    Awww…he’s so cute! I can’t believe that girl wouldn’t be completely RELIEVED to see him. I agree with everyone else…see if she puts any effort into locating him. If not, I say you either keep him (eek!) or find him a good, loving home.
    Some people are just not responsible enough to have pets. (sigh)

  22. Katie August 4, 2008 at 2:47 am #

    Hmm that’s a toughie. I would give him back to the people you found on Craig’s List. The original owners obviously aren’t taking care of him!! Or give hiim to someone else that you know would take fabulous care of him. Sometimes putting an animal’s well-being ahead of a person’s is a must. I have had experience in that department. It’s a hard decision, but what needs to be done needs to be done!

  23. Alicia August 4, 2008 at 7:45 am #

    He is so cute. I have my new, private blog up, I don’t have your email anymore if you want to email me or post it on my other blog. I won’t post it. I love the belly shot BTW!!

  24. Michelle August 4, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    What did you end up doing with the dog? It is very obvious the snotty girl didn’t want it. I would be seriously reluctant to take it back a second time too.

Leave a Reply

