Some Good News and Some…

18 Jul

Well…I’m not sure how to take it. I’m taking it as good news, actually…but you may find that sort of strange.

The scoop is this: At my appointment today we found out that I do not, in fact, have a yeast infection – I have a bacterial infection. Bacterial infections are really scary during pregnancy because they are linked to preterm labor and premature rupture of membranes (PROM), two of the things I have been obsessing over. When I called Hubby to tell him the news he was shocked that I wasn’t hysterical. What’s strange is that I actually feel better!

I wasn’t crazy after all, it was just intuition.

Now that I have an explanation for the panic I was feeling  I feel MUCH better. I don’t know how long it will last before I am back to being a complete freak, but at least I have found some peace for today.

The doctor gave me four huge pills to take all at once which he said should cure it. He is also doing a culture to make sure that that was ALL that was going on, and I am to go back in two weeks to make sure that it has been knocked out completely.

Of course I asked him to check my cervix, which he said was still tightly closed. 😉

I also did not have to ask for more appointments should I need them in the meantime because the doctor specifically told me not to hesitate if I had any concerns/strange feelings/etc.

Oh, and I get to go back to work! I am actually REALLY excited about this. I *love* my job, and I had only just started in a new position and I can’t wait to get back to learning the ropes. I go back on Monday.

My mom thinks that I should stay off work for the rest of the pregnancy – which would be nice in a perfect world – but I honestly think that going back to work is the best possible thing for me right now. It will leave me less time to obsess…and Hubby and I will have a LOT more money. Not enough to move out (well, it would be, except that I still have ACTUAL maternity leave coming up) – but it will be plenty to buy all of the cute baby crap that we want. Mmmm, and perhaps a handful of prenatal massages. =)

Besides that, if I am working (doing something I love) I am not going to have nearly as much time to surf the internet and scare the crap out of myself. Like this: (click me)

Besides, anything that can keep me occupied for the next three and a half weeks (and keep me and my mom from having to spend any “quality time” during which we might do one another bodily harm) is a fantastic idea in my book.

Almost forgot – last night the babies progressed from “flutters” to actual KICKS for the first time, and they must have been pretty damn proud of themselves, because I swear it was party time in LaLa’s uterus ALLLLLL night long. Guess who got NO sleep last night? Guess who loved every ridiculous minute of it?

11 Responses to “Some Good News and Some…”

  1. Amanda July 18, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Sorry about the BV, but I know you feel better knowing you were right about something not being right. I hope it clears up quickly and there’s no more reason for concern.

    That rocks that you get to go back to work! I hope you love every minute of it.

    I can’t wait to feel my little ones move. I’ve already been told to be careful what I ask for since they’ll keep me up all night…but I still can’t wait!

  2. BlueBella July 18, 2008 at 4:47 pm #

    Oh sweets thank God you pay such good attention to yourself and get to your doc when you need to! Sorry about the infection, and glad you have medicine for it now. And gratz on getting to go back to work! Yay!
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  3. sara July 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm #

    That’s great news about being able to go back to work! I’m glad that they caught your problem early on- and I know it’s hard, but try not to google too much. It’s enough to drive a sane girl crazy – at least it drives me nutty 🙂 You’re doing a great job taking care of your self and the little ones!

  4. annacyclopedia July 18, 2008 at 9:34 pm #

    Yahoo for the kicks and the party in LaLa’s ute! How totally exciting and wonderful! I’m glad that your doctor has identified your infection, but so not glad you have an infection. Hope the antibiotics take care of it and that you get a clean bill in two weeks. And congrats on going back to work – I know you’ve been wanting to get back to it for a while. Hope it helps take your mind off all the worries (and your family stuff!) and that everything stays good with you and the babies.

  5. twondra July 19, 2008 at 3:08 am #

    Awww, great news about the kicks! So awesome! I’m glad you got some answers and are feeling better real soon!

  6. Away2me July 19, 2008 at 5:05 am #

    Mama intuition. Glad you feel better and glad you are going back to work. That should help you mentally and financially.

  7. Alicia July 19, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    I’ve been a little out of touch lately- working a lot and whatnot. Anyways, are you seeing a Peri now?
    I’m glad you’re getting the care you deserve. You are not a freak– I’m not even pregnant and I’m already a paranoid freak, worrying myself sick, about all the what-ifs and what if this or that happens. Just know the over-paraniod, anxiety freaks are out there! We can support each other! lol

  8. S July 19, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    It seems crazy to type this but congrats on your infection!!!! LOL!!! Just because you head back to work, don’t think you are off blog duty!!! We still need out updates!

  9. Sarah July 19, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    Yay for kicks and thank G-d that they finally found out what was going on. Hope those big horse pills kicked that infection in the arse!
    Glad you’re going back to work too, I obsess too even though I know it’s not helpful…
    Seems to go with the territory when you’re a parent.

  10. samcy July 21, 2008 at 1:01 am #

    Thank heavens you got yourself to the doctor! Way to go Lala intuition 🙂 Great news about getting back to work too…

  11. noswimmers July 21, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    LOL…I hope there are many, MANY sleepless nights from here on out. Way to go kids, starting off with a bang!

Leave a Reply

