Woot!

12 Jul

I get to go back to work!

Ok, not yet…and not for sure…but it’s on the table!

At my appointment on Friday the doc said that he wants me off bed rest now and if I do really well for three weeks that he will consider sending me back to work. Actually, he said that if I call him in a week or two and want to go back even sooner that he might let me. I’m *so* excited. I love my job, I miss my friends…and now that I’m feeling good it’s REALLY boring staying at home.

Everyone please keep your fingers crossed for us that nothing “dramatic” happens during the next four and a half weeks. That’s a  tall order for my girls…I know! 😉

But, I’ve been cruising around (read: shopping) all day yesterday and so far I feel great so…Hopefully it stays that way.

I sort of wish that I could either go back now (at 20 weeks) or wait until after 24 weeks…going back in between scares me…but then again EVERYTHING scares me right now. I told the doctor about my fears of having an incompetent cervix and he said that he understand that it is scary, but that there is nothing that can be done to prevent it unless I already have a history of loss or if they happen to notice somethingon an ultrasound (which they haven’t). He did say that I am already the size of a 25-28 week singleton pregnancy which makes me feel better in a way (I don’t know why it does, but it does). When I do call to ask to go back to work I will also ask for weekly appointments until after 24 weeks, just because it will keep me more sane. I don’t think it will surprise my doctor at all – every time I go in he teases me about being a worry wart. He even mentioned that he’s not sure about sending me back to work at all because he’s afraid that it will just throw me into a panic. Come on, give me some credit! At least it would be a distraction…

Speaking of ultrasounds, I also asked the doctor a ton of questions about the girl’s development and he said that everything is exactly where it is supposed to be, no anomalies, and they are growing well. Lennon is head down in my pelvis now (hence all the pain) and is measuring 18 weeks 6 days and Evelyn is on top (making a “T” shape) and measuring 19 weeks 1 day (the ultrasound was done at exactly 19 weeks).

I am *SO* ready to have an uneventful next few months of my pregnancy…this has been such a roller coaster ride! Hopefully I can make it through the next four weeks without having too many panic attacks and then these kids stay put and drama – free until November.

19 Responses to “Woot!”

  1. Away2me July 12, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    Wooo hooo! Good news is always great to hear.

  2. Ms. J July 12, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    It’s so nice to hear about a rather ordinary dr. appt for you and the girls :o)

    Remember, folks who have been through what we have (and have struggled so mightily) will ALWAYS worry. It sucks, but is true. But you have lots of bloggie friends who will be sympathetic to each and every worry — whether irrational or logical ;o)

  3. Jess July 12, 2008 at 3:19 pm #

    that’s so exciting! Definitly hoping for uneventful times for you!

  4. hopeful July 12, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    I am so glad to hear everything is going better now. I hope you can get back to work asap.

  5. Lost in Space July 12, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    I’m so glad everything is going so well and hope you are able to get back to work soon. I’m a total worrier too.

  6. Michell July 12, 2008 at 4:42 pm #

    Glad that you got some good news. Did you get a referral to a perinatologist?? Also you worry about incompetent cervix has he done transvag ultrasounds to check your cervix? I hope the next 3 weeks go well and that you have no further problems.

  7. Michelle July 12, 2008 at 6:54 pm #

    I hope that the next four weeks are seriously, boringly uneventful. 😉 Hopefully you will have the work distraction before you know it.

    Big hugs!

  8. futurewise July 13, 2008 at 2:28 am #

    I hope the rest of your pregnancy goes uneventful, because no news is better than bad news… Also, the work is great idea if it’s not too stressful…

  9. twondra July 13, 2008 at 4:10 am #

    Yay!! I’m soooo excited for you!!!

  10. noswimmers July 13, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    I’m so glad things are going well–I’m sure it will be nice to get back to work after such a long time away. Bedrest would be tough!
    I have everything crossed for an uneventful (rest of your) pregnancy.

  11. BlueBella July 13, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    GREAT NEWS!!!!!! But . . .there’s always a but .. . .Take. It. Easy!!!!! And that’s an order, missy! Stay as stress free as possible, no matter what that means . . .working or floating in the pool or whatever. OK? Now back to your happy dance – you deserve it 🙂

  12. Io July 13, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    Yay – glad you get to rejoin the rest of us drones… heh. It does get boring sitting at home.

  13. sara July 13, 2008 at 9:10 pm #

    That’s great news! I’m so keeping everything crossed for some good quiet weeks for you ahead and a smooth transition back to being a boring working girl!

  14. Sweetgeorgia July 14, 2008 at 7:30 am #

    Great news! Here’s hoping that a couple of weeks from now you’ll be back at work and feeling great.

  15. S July 14, 2008 at 8:44 am #

    That is wonderful news!!! I hope those girls behave!!

  16. M July 14, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    I am so happy for you!!! I hope the girls behave and in a few short weeks you are back to work, enjoying being out and about again!! Woot is right!

  17. Alison July 15, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    This is good news! Kind of a fix-all for everything. 🙂

  18. Ms. J July 15, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS LALA — TODAY YOU ARE HALFWAY THROUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!

  19. ultimatejourney July 16, 2008 at 4:58 pm #

    I’m glad things are going so well that this is on the table!!! I hope the rest of the pregnancy is uneventful.

Leave a Reply

