Happy July 5th!

5 Jul

Hope everyone had a great holiday yesterday.

We had family and friends over for swimming and a BBQ, which went well. We then went downtown to watch them light Mt Rubidoux on fire with the local fireworks show – a Riverside tradition! No joke, it goes up EVERY year! lol

My appointment on Thursday went fairly well. They tried for about 30 minutes to do a non stress test, but the babies just would not cooperate (they would move out of range as soon as they strapped the transponders on). So the doctor ended up doing an impromptu ultrasound instead. That was pretty cool because we have never had an ultrasound before where the doctor was actually able to actively tell us what we were looking at WHILE we were seeing it (all of our others have been done by techs who are not allowed to discuss ANYTHING with us).

The doctor was able to tell us that they both look good, that there ws fluid in their stomachs (which means that they are drinking amniotic fluid, yay!), the they both have good fluid levels and that my cervix looks great (no dialating, funneling, etc). I feel *so* much better.

This doctor also seems to think I have kidney stones (I don’t think I do), something about the fact that I was now testing negative for a UTI (after two days on antibiotics) but that there was still trace amounts of blood in my urine…? I would think I’d be in more pain and constant pain if I had kidney stones. Anyhow, he put me on a low dose of antibiotic for the rest of the pregnancy to prevent future UTIs (yippie!).

I have another appointment for an offical ultrasound on Tuesday and an appointment with my OB on Friday (which is when I plan to ask for the consult with the Peri).

Have a great weekend guys!

10 Responses to “Happy July 5th!”

  1. Babychaser July 5, 2008 at 2:36 pm #

    My god, you seem to be stuck in ever-changing world of Adventurous Pregnancy! Glad everything came out (or rather, didn’t) okay.

  2. Away2me July 5, 2008 at 6:23 pm #

    Well glad you got a great check up and all looks well with the babies!

  3. Io July 5, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    Glad you had a good holiday! I hope that whatever is happening with your bladder, that it gets better!

  4. Cindy F July 5, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    Glad you’re feeling better! I saw your comment on Tammy’s blog and had to bust out laughing. I thought I was the only person in the world that took socks to the movie theater in her purse!

  5. Michelle July 5, 2008 at 7:39 pm #

    I’m glad to hear the impromptu ultrasound made you feel more at ease. You ARE going to carry these babies to term, and it sounds like ever appointment you have proves it. I think it’s cute that their bellies are full of amniotic fluid. Isn’t that just so weird to think they are drinking what you are eating?! I don’t think pregnancy will ever cease to be amazing to me. 🙂

  6. twondra July 6, 2008 at 3:39 am #

    I’m so glad to hear about the good report! I hope the next u/s and the OB appt goes well too! I’ll be thinking of ya!!

  7. sara July 6, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    Glad you had a good appointment and get to see the little ones again this week. I so look forward to those scheduled glimpses of the baby! The fireworks sound really fun – we watched some from our front porch ourselves and it was really fun. I hope you had a nice 4th as well and here’s to hoping for a really boring week!

  8. Alicia July 6, 2008 at 1:28 pm #

    Can’t your PCP give you a referral to the Peri? Then you can skip the middle man (OB)?

  9. Lost in Space July 6, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    So glad to hear the babies are doing and looking good.

    I have interstitial cystitis and always have trace amounts of blood in my urine with no infection. There are so many things that can cause this though and I hope the low dose antibiotics do the trick to keep your pain and infection away.

  10. DC July 6, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    Congrats on the great u/s! Glad you had a good holiday weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

