Life is Sweet…

30 Jun

A little too sweet apparently – I have a cavity. Oh joy.

I have an appointment tomorrow morning to get it taken care of, but unfortunately I am afraid that this might turn into quite an ordeal. See, Novocaine does not work on me. So usually when I have a cavity I have to just let them gas me and then I muscle through the pain. Well, obviously I can’t have the gas either this time so I’ll most likely end up doing it with nothing. I see no point in trying to inject the Novocaine when it’s not going to do anything anyway. Well, I shouldn’t say it does nothing…it does eventually make me numb; about four hours later. IF they give me 4+ shots on each side of my gums. Yeah. Nice.

They also told me that they will want to do x-rays and I am totally against that. I know that dental x-rays are supposed to be safe during pregnancy and yadda, yadda, yadda – but these babies have been through so much and have been exposed to so much already that I am completely unwilling to expose them to anything else unless I have NO other choice.

So my goal is to go in and have them simply drill and fill that cavity and NOTHING else. We’ll see how that goes. I’m bringing Hubby along for back up.

Hubby got his catheter out today, BTW, something he was very, VERY excited about. Now we just have to do the antibody thing and wait to get called for a new organ. How awesome is that?

And speaking of awesome, I am really starting to get attached to these babies and that is scaring the CRAP out of me. I am starting to think of ballet classes, and family vacations, and….well everything I guess. And not just in a general way either, but in a very specific Lennon and Evelyn way.

I can feel which baby kicks and when. I know that Evelyn was the baby that we saw dancing on our 9 week ultrasound. She is bigger. I know that Lennon gets terrified when I sneeze and flips around like crazy in there – usually she kicks Evelyn and then they both get going.

I really didn’t want to start feeling this way until after 24 weeks. I hate this. I am really starting to feel hopeful and relax a bit about this pregnancy too which (strange as it sounds) totally terrifies me. I have not had any more cramping or bleeding in the past few days (except a few of what I assume are braxton hicks and a few tiiiiiiiny specks of old blood). And I have tested the PH a few times at home and it always comes out waaaaaaay too low to be amniotic fluid (I have been using pool water test strips, lol, but I ordered some regular PH paper off the internet which should be here soon). I think that the fluid is just the regular pregnancy stuff that I was not experiencing before because I was bleeding so much.

Because I have been feeling so good and my fears are starting to abate I have been not really taking my bed rest seriously. I KNOW! But I feel wonderful and I’ve been going CRAZY with boredom…so I have been sneaking out of the house at least once a day. I take it really easy, use the wheelchair and still spend MOST of my time in bed…am I terrible?

While on the one hand I am thrilled that I am feeling more optimistic, I also know that I am just going to be that much more crushed if something does go wrong. Right now is the MOST critical time (in my opinion). The period between 18 and 24 weeks terrifies me, and that is right where I am. I am thinking about asking the doc at my next appointment (next week) if he would mind checking my cervix once a week from now until 24 weeks. I hope he doesn’t think I’m too much of a pain in the ass, but it would make me feel SOOO much better.

Alright. I have rambled on long enough for today. =)

12 Responses to “Life is Sweet…”

  1. Away2me June 30, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    Glad you are feeling well and how on earth can you not be totally attached. Amazing that you can tell which one is kicking.

  2. sara July 1, 2008 at 3:42 am #

    Hi there swollen sister of mine! I’m glad I’m not the only one πŸ™‚ I’m so glad that the bleeding and cramping/contraction stuff has been a little more quiet lately. But sorry about the cavity, bummer! I wish they could do something more with the Novacaine to help. I need to make a dental appointment, just for a cleaning soon myself. That’s so cool that you are enjoying the babies moving, and I hope that this 18-24 week time frame flies by! That’s great news about your husband as well. I’ve been keeping you both in my thoughts.

  3. Katie July 1, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    LaLa, I have so much to comment on (I’ve been a serious comment slacker lately…)

    First, I don’t know if I told you, but I LOVE your names…they are wonderful! =) As for the cavity…my teeth have been really sensitive lately so I know the feeling, but I haven’t gotten mine checked out lately. I hope you can get yours taken care of quickly (and painlessly!) as possible. Next, yay for hubby, and I hope things keep going wonderful for you guys in that department.

    Now, onto the babies…of course you are going to be attached!!! I know it’s scary (and I agree that 18 to 24 weeks is critical…all I can think about lately is reaching viability!), but you deserve to think about all of those wonderful things too, it’s your right…..enjoy t hem! πŸ˜‰ Oh, and if asking for the cervix check makes you feel better, I say go for it!

  4. S July 1, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    The cavity sounds like lots of fun!!! I need to go to the dentist too but I’m still afraid that the hands in the mouth thing will throw me into a throwing up frenzy!!! Glad dh is doing great!!

  5. Lost.in.Space July 1, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Sorry about the cavity. I hope all goes well and they can figure out something to keep you comfortable for the filling.

    I can imagine getting attached now is completely normal. It is scary, but you deserve to be able to think about the future. It is what keeps us moving forward.

    I am glad that both you and your husband are doing so well. Keep it up!!!

  6. noswimmers July 1, 2008 at 11:40 am #

    You do whatever makes you comfortable & reassures you that everything is okay. If anything, in the last few weeks I’ve learned that instincts are everything.
    Good luck with the cavity tomorrow–OUCH!

  7. BlueBella July 1, 2008 at 3:17 pm #

    Lennon & Evelyn are going to be just fine – isn’t it magical to know which one is kicking?! Their little personalities are starting to come out:) My twins were the same way – each had their own pattern and thumped on me differently. By this time they always kept to their own ‘side’ so it was no mystery who was causing the rukkus!

    I remember at 28 weeks starting to have to pushing little butts out from under my ribcage! You will be there before you know it!

    Glad hubby is doing great and sorry about the tooth! Take it easy, LaLa.

  8. Io July 1, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    Ack. Good luck with the cavity. My mouth hurts just thinking about it.
    Hang on to the happy.

  9. twondra July 2, 2008 at 3:51 am #

    It makes me feel good that you’re getting attached, but I can see where that would be so scary. I’m the exact same way with the Novocain. They give me the max dose and then I have to sit for an hour…then later I get so sick from it because I got so much. I hate the dentist. πŸ™‚ Good luck! Let us know how it goes!

  10. Sweetgeorgia July 2, 2008 at 7:14 am #

    Yikes – having a cavity filled with no pain meds – you are my hero! I would be too much of a chicken and probably put it off for as long as possible.

    On another note, it’s good that you are feel so much better and that you’re becoming attached to the little ones. I know for self-preservation you would want to put off the bonding until later in your pregnancy, but it is ok, normal even!, to bond and dream.

  11. Ms. J July 2, 2008 at 7:47 am #

    Ugh, I don’t envy you!!!

    Hope you comfort yourself with obscene amounts of ice cream afterwards, though. And milkshakes so thick you need a spoon to enjoy ;o)

  12. Ms. J July 2, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    LaLa — can you email me? I wanted to send you something, but can’t find your email, grrr.

Leave a Reply

