Yep, it’s girls!

24 Jun

You guessed it – more drama!

For the past few days I have been having a lot of pain in the groin area. It’s the same shooting pains that I had before, but much worse and painful this time. I upped the trebutaline and that finally helped, but when I had a couple of gushes of watery fluid yesterday I ended up with an emergency Dr’s appt. I still don’t know what the pains are, and the doctor doesn’t seem to either – so I have NO clue if they are normal or not. They don’t feel anything like what I would think contractions would be like, the best way I can describe them is like a bolt of electricity is shooting either across my stomach or down my cervix. The only one who seems to know what I am talking about is my mother who said she felt the same thing when she went into PTL with me. Hmmm. Who knows.

I’m still a bit nervous about the fluid leak (had a bit more of the same this morning), but the strip test for amniotic fluid came out negative and the doc said my cervix is still very tightly closed. Even though the test came back negative he was a bit concerned about the fluid still and sent me for a STAT ultrasound as well, but the fluid levels look pretty good apparently. They also tested my white blood cell count to check for infection and that came back negative. Those were all of the things I was worried about so I feel a bit better today, but I am to go back in two weeks to do all of the tests over again and to have another ultrasound. The only thing that has me a bit concerned is that that DOCTOR seems a bit concerned. He even called me at home this morning to ask if I had leaked anymore fluid and to remind me to take my temperature often (to check for infection) from now on.

Oh yeah, and I’m back on STRICT bed rest until we find out what the fluid is and the cramping stays away.

I’m starting to get a bit used to the wild ride that is my pregnancy. Not that I’m not still going to be a worry wart! lol But I have been trying really hard this whole pregnancy to NOT get attached in case things didn’t work out, and I’m starting to lose that battle now. The babies are SO cute on the ultrasound and I am feeling them kick a lot more (particularly today, I think they are having a party in there or something!). I even (nervously) completed my baby registry. Today it really hit me that there are TWO people in there; I had to fight back tears.

I wanted to say thank you to all the Braces Bunchers who sent me birthday cards! That was SOOO sweet and I loved each and every one of them!

Thank you also for all of the baby name advice. I think we are pretty much settled now on what we are going to call them. =)

Oh! And I wanted to mention that Hubby is doing GREAT since his surgery. A few days after he got home from the hospital he was up and around on his own. Right now he is almost completely back to his old self, his only complaint is the catheter and bag that they still have him on. He’s anxiously awaiting next Monday when he gets to go back to LA to have it removed.

10 Responses to “Yep, it’s girls!”

  1. Lost in Space June 24, 2008 at 6:09 pm #

    How scary for you. ((Hugs)) You definitely have some drama princesses in there. (: I hope your feet are up in the air as you relax and take it easy. I’m sending lots of positive thoughts your way that everything is fine.

    Glad to hear your hubby is doing great!!

  2. M June 24, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    How scary!!! Divas already, huh? Lucky you!

    Stay rested, keep healthy. I will be keeping good thoughts heading your way!

    Glad to hear that your husband is recovering well aslo!

  3. Io June 24, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    Yay girls! Good luck – I am of the opinion that us gals are much harder to raise!
    I hope the pain/fluid turns out to be nothing – I’ll keep you in my thoughts. Hell, I’ll even have another glass of wine for you.

  4. sara June 24, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    Congrats on the news of the girls! But gee girl, I am really sorry for the added stress you have to go through lately. This sounds like it would be very scary to go through. And I know what you mean when you say the it is worrisome when the doctor seems worried. I completely understand. That unnerves me as well. Thank you for the kind words. I hope I can be as good of a couch buddy for you as you have been for me. Ugh, strict bedrest is tricky. Are they letting you get up to go to the bathroom at least? Do they let you shower every day or is it like every other? I know some girls who are on strict bedrest and they don’t even get up to shower but every three days – yikes I would go insane. Thank heavens mine has never been that bad yet. Anyways, please update often because you have me really worried about you and the little ones. They are tough cookies and are going to hang with you through all of these bumps because their mom is tough cookie – I just know you are! Sending lots of good vibes back your way too.

  5. twondra June 25, 2008 at 3:59 am #

    I’m thinking and praying for you so much. I hope things settle down! You’re soooo strong!

  6. samcy June 25, 2008 at 5:23 am #

    Oh my gosh! Take care of yourself and those little girls Lala! Feet up and lots of rest…

  7. keri June 25, 2008 at 8:47 am #

    Wow, sounds like those two little girls are proving to be a handful already! I can imagine you worrisome this must be for you, but you sound like you’re keeping a good outlook which is for the best. Keep your chin (and feet) up!

  8. BlueBella June 25, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    Huge Hugs Girls!!!!! (And Hubby too!) You all are making miracles every day . . . keep it up! Here’s lots of hugs and prayers and love for your bunch 🙂

    I know it’s a lot of drama now, but once those beautiful babies are born and in your arms you’d do it all again in a heartbeat . . and hanging by your toenails if you had to:)

  9. noswimmers June 25, 2008 at 11:58 am #

    Oh sweeite I just pray that everything is okay. Keep thinking positive thoughts and know that there are others out there doing the same for you.

  10. Ms. J June 25, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    Ugh, the DRAMA these girls insist upon inflicting on to their dear mother, LOL!

    Glad for the hubby update — been wondering but didn’t want to ask (hey, it’s private after all).

Leave a Reply

