Feeling upbeat for once…

10 Jun

Hubby finally came home yesterday (yay!) and he’s doing pretty darn well considering. He hardly ever takes any pain meds, he says that he is only sore and not in sever pain, so I think that is pretty freakin awesome. How neat is it that this big, horrible surgery we were all so terrified of turned out to be no big deal? Whew, I really needed something to turn out good around here!

In other good news, it appears as though I will be graduating after all. I will admit, I am totally cheating on my bed rest (having my mom push me around in a wheel chair) but I am going to take my last final on Thursday and I walk on Sunday (yeah, on Father’s day…CRAPPY…I know). My mom really wants to wheel me across the stage, but I am going to have to put my foot down on that one. I am actually feeling pretty good and Sunday is MY day…I’m doing it on my own two feet. I’ll stay in bed for however long is necessary to make up for it after…

I still have to take a Summer school class, but its only a month long and seems like it is going to be incredibly easy.

What prompted this sudden drive you might ask? Oh, just that I found out late last week that I was, in fact, accepted in to the graduate program that I applied for! Eeeeee! I am so excited. I probably won’t be able to start in September as I had hoped, but we’ll see.

As far as pregnancy news…I am 15 weeks today!! I have no idea why that excites me so much, but it really does. Perhaps it is the fact that I have only 9 more weeks to go until I reach the first goal of viability? Can that be right? Only 9 more weeks!? Seems like after such a slow (scary) start things are finally moving along. I am getting HUGE (Ok, not really, but I reallllllly look pregnant now, pics to come soon) and I can feel them kicking!!! Yeah! I wouldn’t believe it myself except that sometimes when I am using the doppler I will feel them kick right there (I guess they don’t like me poking at them?).Ā 

I am still bleeding (of course), but it has been only brown blood for the past week or so…though I don’t doubt that the heavy red bleeding will continue to happen every week or two for the rest of the pregnancy. I have no idea why this is happening, but it just seems to tbe the way it’s going to be and the babies don’t seem to mind when it happens so…I’m starting to accept things.

The meds still suck, though I am getting a bit more used to them. They are finally working really well (it took a few weeks) – pretty much no cramping now. Just round ligament pain (which is actually quite uncomfortable at times).

I guess that’s about it for now. Yay for the upbeat attitude I have FINALLY managed (one eye on the sky for the lightening bolt, lol).

14 Responses to “Feeling upbeat for once…”

  1. sara June 10, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Lala, sounds like things are going great! I’m so happy that your husband is home and that you are 15 weeks. Yes, the point of viability will be here before you know it! Nope, there will be no more lightening bolts for either of us. None at all!

  2. Ms. J June 10, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    Girl, you SO deserve all these bits and pieces of good news! I am rejoicing in all of this positivity in your life :o)

    You have earned it.

  3. Michelle June 10, 2008 at 4:27 pm #

    What a wonderful post. I am so glad to hear your sweetie is recovering well and so quickly. Congrats on the graduation AND being accepted into your program. How neat that you can feel your little twins kicking already. I can’t wait to get to that point.

  4. S June 10, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    What great news!!! I’m so happy your husband is doing so well. Congrats on the grad school acceptance. After that walk on Sunday, take a little breather!! (But enjoy your graduation day!!) I can’t wait for the pics!

  5. Io June 10, 2008 at 5:17 pm #

    Congrats on getting accepted to your grad program, even if you’re not going to go this fall!

  6. Lost in Space June 10, 2008 at 5:44 pm #

    What a great post!! I’m so happy to hear your husband is doing so well and that you will be graduating and starting graduate school. Congratulations!!

    Very cool that you are feeling the little ones start to kick. I hope they take it easy on you and the bleeding just disappears completely. (:

  7. Searching June 10, 2008 at 6:18 pm #

    Wow, so much good news! YAY! šŸ™‚ I’m so thankful your hubby is home and managing alright. Congrats on grad school. You’ll have my prayers on that one!

  8. noswimmers June 10, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    I am SO GLAD that hubby is home and that you’re feeling (relatively) well. I’m so excited for you for Sunday. YAY! You’ll have no problem making it across the stage, I’m sure. šŸ™‚
    Take care of those babies!!

  9. M June 10, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    Yay for hubby being home!! And, for you feeling so much better!

    Congrats on being able to graduate, too! ANd, woo hoo even more on the acceptance to the grad program!! THings are looking good!!!

  10. Monkey's Mama June 10, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    UGH! I’ve been without an internet connection for 2 weeks after moving. I’m so glad to read all your good news! Congratulations on all of it! Where can I sign up for that surgery to make the bladder bigger? I could avoid all those disgusting public bathrooms if I just had a little more space.

  11. twondra June 11, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    Awww, sweetie, I’m soooo glad you’re happy and that hubby’s surgery went well and he’s home! That’s so awesome! I’m so happy for you for being able to graduate! How exciting!!

  12. Katie June 11, 2008 at 6:18 am #

    Yay for all the happy news and congrats on graduating and getting accepted into your new program!! =D Oh, and if you have 9 weeks until “viability” that means I have 8 and just had a holy crap moment =P

  13. Cece June 12, 2008 at 8:54 am #

    YEah for everything going well. I’ve found that the weeks are going faster now that I’m out of the first trimester….

  14. Alicia June 12, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    Oh Im so happy for you for all the above mentioned reasons. šŸ™‚ Cant wait to see the belly pics!

Leave a Reply

