Bedside Ramblings

25 May

Well, the bleeding seems to be almost gone. It’s hard to get too happy about that though, because every time I do it just comes back or something else strange and terrifying happens. =/ Arrrrgggghh.

In the ER the doctor said that putting the progesterone suppositories in vaginally might be making the situation worse, and he suggested that I call the IVF clinic and ask them if I could take them rectally. When I called to ask they told me to just stop taking them (and the estrodiol), and that I could have actually gone off of them a week ago. ::gulp:: So I stopped all the meds but, of course, I’m worried about that now too. lol – I’m a basket case.

I am having a bit of cramping still, mostly when I move around in the bed or stand up – that’s scary. The whole pregnancy I have been having these shooting pains in my cervix (it sort of feels like an electric shock or being stabbed with a knife). It’s not extremely painful, but it is very uncomfortable – if that makes any sense. Anyhow, I have no clue what it could be. I mentioned it to the ER doctor and he didn’t really address it (ok, he totally ignored it) – but it seems to get a lot worse whenever the bleeding does, so I’m going to go out on a limb and say it’s probably not good. Right now instead of feeling it only in my cervix, it shoots all the way up through my uterus. It did this when we had bleeding a few weeks ago.

I’m trying really hard to be positive, but it’s not always possible. After going through so much to get to this point I thought I was getting OFF the roller coaster when I finally got pregnant. Ha! I just have to grit my teeth and somehow STAY pregnant for another two and a half months (at LEAST). The babies (might) be viable by then and that’s less time than we have been pregnant already…we can do this (I’m just going to keep telling myself that…).

We still have most of the medical supplies that we used for my Granie (except those that were on loan to us from Hospice) – so my Nana is bringing some of them down for me to use today. Mostly what I am interested in is the wheelchair – I’m getting cabin fever already! And I figure that if someone pushes me around in the wheelchair (aka I am not walking or exerting myself, etc) then I should be ok. We’ll see how that pans out.

Oh! And I finally got to comment on everyone’s blog and update my blog roll! Yay! Bed rest a great bloggie buddie does maketh me (and apparently also a huge nerd). I received a lot of really sweet comments from people that did not leave links to their blogs though. If you are not on my blog list and you wouldn’t mind if I added you – please leave me a link!!

14 Responses to “Bedside Ramblings”

  1. Michell May 25, 2008 at 10:32 am #

    I hope the bleeding continues to stay gone and that the cramping goes away soon.

  2. Jill May 25, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    Not sure what happened to my last comment…oops! Just wanted you to know that I’m praying for you, daily. I think you are handling all of this so well…you have been through so much, bless your heart.

    Hang in there…you CAN do this. 🙂

  3. annacyclopedia May 25, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    Glad to hear you’re sounding in better spirits and that things are relatively quiet on the southern front (other than the electro-jolts – ouch!) I hope you get the wheelchair pronto and that gives you a break from the cabin fever.

    I’m keeping you in my thoughts and prayers – hang in there, LaLa!

  4. Monkey's Mama May 25, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    Thanks for your kind words on my site. My heart was in my throat during your previous post…that is just terrifying.

    Good news on the *rectal* suppositories. The indignities just keep coming for those of us with grumpy uteruses (or is that uteri?). Any word on progesterone in oil shots? That’s what I used after IVF and the doctor had to pry them from my hands after the 1st trimester, I was so afraid I’d start bleeding again without them. Supposedly the placenta is making enough progesterone at 12 weeks anyway.

    I had that cervical stabbing pain too while pregnant, but *not* during labor, so maybe this is just a normal part of pregnancy.

    I’m crossing all my limbs for you! Try to keep sane during bedrest by visualizing your beautiful babies growing stronger every hour.

  5. Lost in Space May 25, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    I’m so sorry you have been going through so much. Huge huge ((hugs)) coming your way. I hope the bleeding stays away and the sharp pains disappear. You and your little ones will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. Orodemniades May 25, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    Per the pain, could it be SPD? :

    http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org/pubicpain.htm

    And yeah, progesterone pessaries and suppositories can be very irritating to the cervix, causing both bleeding and cramping – hopefully that’s the root cause!

  7. sara May 26, 2008 at 5:58 am #

    I hope the bedrest goes quickly and the wheelchair sounds like a great idea! Wouldn’t it be great if the progesterone suppositories was the culprit and now that you stop them it gets better? That would be great. If you’re bored, I’m reading Eat Pray Love right now and it’s really good. Also, I signed up for Netflix a couple of months ago, and I have been so happy that we did because I’ve become a movie junkie. And they have TV series also. Some you can watch on your computer (or laptop) right from their online site and you don’t even have to wait for them to come! I know I’m pathetic, but when you’re bored, you’ll do anything 🙂 Hope the time starts to fly by soon!

  8. Ahuva Batya May 26, 2008 at 6:56 am #

    I can only imagine how anxious and scared you are. I am hoping for you that all is well from here on out. Praying for you and the babies.

  9. Kate May 26, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    You are in my prayers!

  10. Michelle May 26, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    I kind of wonder if your pains are actually common, and that is why the doctor didn’t address them. The reason I say that is because I think I know what pains you are talking about. Its hard to say since you can’t show me where it hurts, but it sounds like the pains I get when I ovulate and around the time AF shows up. I also know they are really common for pg women. Apparently that is the only time most women get them. Are they kind of off to the sides where you ovaries are?

    I was thinking and wondering this morning if you hate my super long comments where I always offer up my two cents? I guess I leave long comments for you because I know that I would love it if people left words of encouragement for me (at least I hope you find them encouraging), but then I realized they might be coming across a completely different way to you. Please know that they are meant to comfort you and are not meant as “ass”vice. I really do put thought into what I tell you, and it is my attempt at quelling your fears. You are constantly in my thoughts, and I am rooting for you to sucessfully bear you babies.

  11. Busted May 26, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the bleeding remains at bay for good. I know it is hard to be positive after dealing with IF and pregnancy complications, but we all have hope and good thoughts for you.

  12. Searching May 26, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    Just checking in and keeping you in my prayers!

  13. twondra May 27, 2008 at 3:32 am #

    Awww, sweetie, you’ve been through so much. I hope the bleeding and cramping stay away. You’re definitely in my thoughts and prayers. (((HUGS)))

  14. BlueBella May 27, 2008 at 7:06 am #

    Prayers, doll. I’m sorry this is such a stressful time for you. Your babies are in the best place possible, and you are doing the best you can. I wish I could hug you!

Leave a Reply

