I’ve been googleing

24 Apr

And I don’t like what I’m seeing.

I was only able to find two articles about “small amniotic sac”s, but both said that miscarriage rate is increased if the sac is too small and that even if the pregnancy does not end, that that fetus rarely develops normally (lung problems, twisted limbs, etc).

So, how do I know if the sac is “too” small, or just small??

On the up side (sort of) my OBs office said that my doc has requested that I be transferred to a MFM or a Perinatologist at Loma Linda and that we are just waiting for my insurance to approve it. I sure hope I can talk to someone soon who will actually know what the hell they are doing.

=(

16 Responses to “I’ve been googleing”

  1. Michell April 24, 2008 at 1:06 pm #

    Glad they are transferring you to a perinatologist and hope that you will be able to get some answers soon. Hang in there.

  2. Katie April 24, 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    You are in my thoughts, and yes I do hope you talk to someone with actual medical information and advice soon rather than just spewing personal opinion! Dr. Google is always going to scare the shit out of you, so for now I would try to just back away (much easier said than done, I know). Good Luck!

  3. Alison April 24, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    Thank heavens that they are transfering you. Hope you get answers real soon friend!

  4. ultimatejourney April 24, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    As a friend of mine likes to say, Google U is a third-tier medical school. I hope you get in to see a real doctor soon.

  5. BlueBella April 24, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Oh I’m so glad you’re getting transferred!!!!
    I would suggest making a list of your questions and taking it with you to the new doc and making sure they go over each and every one of them with you.
    Good luck with this, hun. Big HUGS!

  6. twondra April 25, 2008 at 3:02 am #

    I’m glad you’re getting transferred to someone else! Hang in there hon! We’re all here for you!!

  7. sara April 25, 2008 at 3:46 am #

    I hope the maternal fetal medicine peri and rest of their staff can answer some of your questions and make you feel a little bit better. The peri at mine help calm a lot of my fears when I saw them after I was diagnosed with a unicornuate uterus. I’ll be thinking of you sweetie…and try not to google too much more until you talk to the MFM doctors if you can 🙂

  8. Ms. J April 25, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    I know you know to “back away from the google” — but I also know it’s waaaay easier said than done. Remember what I said about focusing on minute-by-minute, then hour-by-hour? Try, as best you can, Sweetie. Remember, also, that BAD outcomes always make the news. The TONS of GOOD outcomes rarely makes news.

    Think about it — when’s the last time the newspaper of t.v. station lead off with the headline story of “no car accidents to report, nothing caught on fire, no kittens needed rescued, etc.”?

  9. Hopeful April 25, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    Hey you, just checking in on you. You have been a little quite, hope everything is good with your pending family.

  10. Babychaser April 25, 2008 at 4:29 pm #

    I totally agree that you should be pissed at your doctor. If he was so sure trips would be a disaster, why the hell did he transfer 3? ESPECIALLY on your first cycle. (A frightening thought–I think we’re going to transfer more than three on our next cycle, because we can’t seem to come up with one that will work.) I mean, if he made you sign something that said you would “consider” reduction, doesn’t that imply that you might reject the idea? Asshole.

    I know that trying to stay calm is pretty much impossible, but do try to get in to see your new doctors ASAP. You’ll feel a lot better when you get away from Dr. Judgmental and start seeing Dr. This-Can-Work.

  11. Michelle April 27, 2008 at 6:15 pm #

    Stop worrying! Everything is going to be fine! I remember when I first started going to the fertility dr she actually banned me from looking up info on the internet because it would stress me out just like it is doing to you right now. IF you have a docotor who is NOT an ass hole at some point, and THEY tell you something about the sac being small, THEN worry about it. Right now all you are doing is causing yourself unecessary stress, which is not helping your little guys right now. The smaller sac could mean nothing at all. Just think positive thoughts and give your brain, body, and babies a break from the stress. Everything is going to be fine. The only things you should be focused on right now are growing your babies and finding a new doctor who isn’t a POS. 🙂

  12. Annarchy April 27, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    I am kicking that doctors ass!!! That’s it! I am sorry you had such a hard time there. Hopefully everything will straighten out soon and you can be outta there. Grrr on that doctor…very grr.

    -=muah=- x3

  13. Annarchy April 27, 2008 at 8:28 pm #

    I am kicking that doctors ass!!! That’s it! I am sorry you had such a hard time there. Hopefully everything will straighten out soon and you can be outta there. Grrr on that doctor…very grr.

    -=muah=- x3

  14. sara April 30, 2008 at 4:24 am #

    How are you hanging in there? Just thinking of you!

  15. Ms. J April 30, 2008 at 10:50 am #

    LaLa, are you okay? You don’t need to do a big entry — just a quick check-in is acceptable. You’re on my mind (feel free to privately email me if you prefer).

    XOXO.

  16. BlueBella April 30, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    Yes I have been stalking your page quite persistantly lately and to no avail . . .you ok babe?! Throw us mother hens a bone here & let us know you’re alright! (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

