More of the Same

9 Apr

As you have probably guessed by now, I did not get an ultrasound yesterday. I did beg for one, and the doc did say yes…but when I called to schedule it the next available appointment was April 25th! Grrrr. Hubby is thrilled though, that’s the day before his birthday.

So we are still waiting until next Wednesday to see the heart beat and get the official word on how many. I may not be sane by then. How do I handle worrying about whether or not they will find a heartbeat for 7 more days!?!? Arrrgh, I’m losing it.

I wasn’t sure if they were going to do a full on prenatal work up on me at the appointment today or not; they did. I only went in to get the medication issues worked out and I wasn’t sure if getting a pelvic exam was a good idea since I have not been released yet by the fertility clinic – but I shared these concerns with the doc and he said that it would be fine. Though it did make me uncomfortable when he checked the size of the uterus – it made me feel like he was squashing my baby! I hope everything is ok in there!

He said that my uterus still felt small – right on track for 6 weeks – which makes me think its only a singleton.

While only having one in there would be best in many ways, it makes me sad for the other two that didn’t make it. It also makes me wonder what to do with the one embie that we have frozen. If only one out of three good embryos implanted, that doesn’t make me feel as though we would have very good odds with ONE frozen embie next time around.

Oh well. It is far too early to be thinking about the next baby just yet – right now I’ve got my hands full not obsessing about the one I am baking right now.

Though I will say that I have given some thought as to whether I would do IVF again for any reason and I am leaning heavily towards “no”. It was very difficult financially, emotionally and (mostly) physically. While I do NOT regret having done it this once (well, OBVIOUSLY! Bun in the oven – Helllllo), I am not sure I could do that all over again. Who knows though – I may feel differently once some time passes and we get that loan paid down a bit. =)

9 Responses to “More of the Same”

  1. annacyclopedia April 9, 2008 at 8:56 am #

    Hope the next seven days are not too hard on you. I’m thinking good thoughts in your direction!

  2. Michell April 9, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    Hang in there, hope the next 7 days go quickly. Also you never know with what will take and what won’t. You could at some later date transfer the one embie and have it take.

  3. ultimatejourney April 9, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    I hope this week flies by for you!

  4. Ms. J April 9, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    Plenty of time for the future to worry about the one you have on ice. I know the next 7 days will be ridiculously difficult for you (I’m sorry bout that!) But you got through the wait until the first Beta, right?! What can we do to keep you entertained in the interim???

  5. Katie April 9, 2008 at 12:22 pm #

    Ah, sorry you didn’t get your u/s, but you can make it another week, I know you can! I will of course be waiting for any updates between now and then as well πŸ˜‰

  6. Alison April 9, 2008 at 2:44 pm #

    I know one is better than none but I will be a little sad there’s not 2 in there.

  7. Michelle April 9, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    Bummer! I was hoping you would have some u/s news. Just think how much bigger the babies will be when you do finally get in to take a peak at them. πŸ™‚

  8. noswimmers April 9, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    Anxiously awaiting your u/s–good luck!

  9. twondra April 10, 2008 at 2:58 am #

    I hope this week goes really fast for you! I’d be going crazy. 😦

Leave a Reply

