I will never POAS again.

5 Apr

I got the beta results. I was hoping for 10,720…it was 11,361!!!

I am never going to pee on another stick again! At first they convinced me that I wasn’t pregnant when I was, then they convinced me that I was going to lose this baby.

Never again.

The only good thing that has come of this is that I found out that I still have a UTI. I am grateful for that.

Thanks SO much for all of the encouragment ladies. Let this be a lesson to you, don’t obsess like me! =)

14 Responses to “I will never POAS again.”

  1. Io April 5, 2008 at 4:44 pm #

    So glad you’re ok! Now stop.peeing.on.sticks. 😉

  2. Amy April 5, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Ack, I’m sorry I found today’s posts late, because I would have tried to reassure you that those damned FRERs will freak you out every time. Your beta is wonderful and I’m glad they caught the UTI in time. Nitrofurantoin is a great med for UTI in pregnancy; hopefully it will do the trick.

  3. BlueBella April 5, 2008 at 5:11 pm #

    Oh girl I’m so glad you and the bab(ies) are ok! And glad you found out about the UTI – those SUCK! Hopefully the new meds will kick that bacteria’s ass and get you well again.
    And so glad you will not be using the pg tests as a torture device! Believe me, I know about obsessing about being pg, but have faith in that awesome beta # and try to enjoy as much as you can while you get over this crappy UTI!

  4. Ms. J April 5, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    First of all, different tests, even from the same batch, can play tricks on the mind. But, I can understand why, in conjunction with your other symptoms (especially lesser pronounced ones) was causing you worry. ALWAYS follow ones gut and call the dr., visit Urgent Care, get pushy, be the squeaky wheel, yadda, yadda!!!

    I just BET the UTI was F’ing with those tests, girl!

    Can you stay away from sugar, LOL?! (I know you will, just teasing you).

    I will say extra prayers for you tomorrow at church. Now put those feet up on the couch, and watch some mindnumbing t.v. on MY order ;o)

  5. annacyclopedia April 5, 2008 at 9:09 pm #

    I am SO glad you have a bladder infection. That is the best news ever! Ha ha. Sorry to rejoice in your discomfort but I’m sure you’re glad, too.

    This is a very good lesson for all of us – things are not always as they seem, so obsessing really doesn’t do us any good. But you totally did well by making sure you got the care you needed – it could have gotten much worse if left untreated, as it sounds like it was a real doozy.

    You said you need to stay off sugar – not sure if this means you have a yeast infection, but my naturopath has me taking grapefruit seed extract for yeast issues, and I find it really works. It has general germ killing properties, too, I think. She said it is safe to use in pregnancy, so you might want to check it out and ask your healthcare providers what they think. You can get capsules or liquid (it tastes like the bitterest thing on earth, but liquid is easier to control the dosage.) Just FYI – not trying to be pushy. Hope you stay healthy from here on out. And a big fat WOOT for that great beta!

  6. twondra April 6, 2008 at 3:24 am #

    Wow…you had quite the day! I’m soooo glad things turned out okay. Sorry about the bladder infection though. 😦 Although I’m sure you’re glad about that rather than a few other things. 🙂 I’m so happy about the high beta!!!! HPTs are sooooo evil!!

  7. Hopeful April 6, 2008 at 4:02 am #

    YAY for you. Glad you got the news you wanted and needed to stay sane. Bring on the ultrasound 😉

  8. sara April 6, 2008 at 4:04 am #

    Holy cripe! That’s the best news I’ve heard all weekend. I’m sorry about the UTI, but thank goodness that’s all it is! Hopefully that’ll turn around soon, but I’m so glad you didn’t have to wait any longer to find out the results of what was going on with the baby. I actually contemplated POAS today, but maybe I’ll just wait for my second beta on Tues.

    This whole infertility thing doesn’t end even after we get a positive. We are so programmed to worry and think that something must be wrong since everything does go wrong for us. I’m having a really hard time with getting the news of this positive and then having to wait until Tues to have a confirmation that things are okay. I constantly feel like something is wrong. Even though I have no signs that anything is wrong.

    Long story short. I’m so glad that hopefully this will give you a little piece of mind that things are okay. Peace of mind is something I’m starting to realize you can’t put a price tag on. I so wish that for you my friend!

  9. Katie April 6, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    Oh jeez hun I am just catching up and it sounds like you have had an eventful few days. I am so glad to see your beta come back wonderful, and even though it stinks, at least you found out about the infection so you can get it treated. Now, no more peeing…well, on sticks that is =P When is your first u/s again?

  10. Alison April 6, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    YAY, I have been so worried about you. I’m so glad it came back high. Your twinsies are in there for sure 🙂

  11. Michell April 6, 2008 at 7:35 am #

    Wow. Thats great. I have heard the whole thing about sticks getting lighter even though the numbers are going up. Glad it’s all good.

  12. Vanessa April 6, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    WOW! those are some good numbers! 😀

    Im glad that your doing well and the UTI was discovered!

    XOXO

  13. ultimatejourney April 7, 2008 at 6:56 am #

    I’m so glad everything is okay, and you have your reassurance!

  14. Michelle April 7, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    I am really glad you finally feel that way.

    I can’t believe its been so long since I’ve been on the blogs again. I missed quite a few posts, but I’m glad to see that they turned out to be unimportant in the end anyway. 😉 There is no doubt in my mind you will carry your baby(ies) to full term.

    When is your first ultrasound? I want to know how many kids you’ve got in there. 😀

Leave a Reply

