OHSS Part II

19 Mar

sick.jpg

I’m so sorry I have been MIA the past few days – the OHSS actually ended up sneaking up on me and taking me down big time.

I’ve been in the hospital and pretty much incoherent for the past two days. Well, since my clinic doesn’t have staff there overnight I was just in for 12 hours a day and then they would send me home at night to sleep. Good times, lemme tell ya.

It started on Saturday night, sometime in the middle of the night I started having intense pains in my stomach (stretching from the swelling) and nausea. By Sunday I was hysterical and I apparently spent the whole day throwing up and screaming that I was dying (I honestly don’t remember much of any of this). My stomach ballooned out even further and it felt like there wasn’t enough room left in my body for my lugs to fill when I tried to breathe. We called the RE who told us to come in first thing Monday morning – Hubby was upset because he wanted to take me to the emergency room on Sunday night, but the RE insisted that there was nothing that they could do for me there that wouldn’t kill the embryos.

So, Monday and Tuesday I spent the whole day on IV fluids as they tried to bring my body back under control. Apparently all of the plasma in my body was collected in my abdomen, leaving my blood somewhere around the consistency of cottage cheese and at one point they were talking about giving me a plasma transfusion – eeek! Even after four huge bags of IV fluids (over the past two days) – I still only pee little tiny amounts of brown fluid every few hours (TMI, I know, sorry!). So gross.

Anyhoo, several prescriptions for Valium, Perkiest, antibiotics and anti nausea meds later I am finally, FINALLY coherent again (well, somewhat anyway)! Yay!

BTW, since I am taking on fluids that have no where to go, my stomach as swelled to the point where I look like I am about to give birth. No joke. My weight generally hovers between 115 and 120 – right now I weight 138! Amusing photos soon to come. 😉

As for the embies, I am really worried that all of this means that they don’t stand much of a chance – though the staff at the clinic keep saying that people who get this sick usually end up pregnant for some reason. We’ll see, but I’m starting to get a bit bummed. No symptoms that I’ve noticed, but I don’t know how I WOULD have noticed through all of this. I have had cramping and twitching in my abdomen for the past few days, but that could be from the swelling. The one thing that IS strange is that usually by this point in my cycle I would be spotting (I usually spot for a week before AF) and my boobs usually hurt REALLY bad from O all the way until AF – neither of those things is happening this time around. I just barely noticed today that my boobs were a TINY bit sore…but all this could be the hormones, so there is nothing to do but wait and see.

I did pee on a stick last night (7 DPO) and it was stark white – at least we know the trigger is out. I’ll try again tomorrow morning.

OH, and we eneded up with one frozen blast – hopefully a sibling for the embies we have cookin right now! =)

9 Responses to “OHSS Part II”

  1. Freyja March 19, 2008 at 11:25 am #

    Wow I am so sorry for the toll OHSS has had on your body. Here’s to hoping that it’s worth it! F/X!

  2. Io March 19, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    Good grief! I am so sorry that your body decided to turn on you there…hopefully the clinic staff is right and this ends up being a shitty beginning to a fantastic pregnancy.

  3. Orodemniades March 19, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    I hope it’s late-onset OHSS, like what I had! Did they give you a blood test?

    Hmm. I’m really surprised your RE didn’t want you to go the ER – I can’t imagine they would have given you anything besides Heparin, fluids, and those calf-massage-y thingies.

    having gained 35lbs in 48hours, I hear you on the ‘omfg I’m freakin’ huge!’ thing. And, um, the ‘how is it possible that I can drink/have an iv with so much fluid and yet still pee so little?’ thing. And the color – gah!

  4. Michell March 19, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Yuck, so sorry all of this happened. Hope that you are feeling much better soon.

  5. Katie March 19, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    Oh goodness hun! I am sorry you went through such an ordeal…I will be praying for you and your little embies.

  6. Vanessa March 19, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    OMGoodness, how horrible! Well i hope your RE is right and you do end up with 1or2 little ones 🙂 Rest up, i hope you feel back to normal real soon!

    XOXO

  7. annacyclopedia March 19, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    Ack! What a nightmare! Hope your belly is shrinking to give you some short term relief before it starts growing again along with your little embies. I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. Alison March 19, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    Om my gosh, how horrible!!! How long is recovery? Till you get all the meds out of your system? Sounds like utter torture, I’m so sorry.

  9. Michelle March 19, 2008 at 5:56 pm #

    How miserable! Sweetie, I am so sorry to hear you are having such a hard time. I hope the worst is far behind you and its only uphill from here. Just be sure to take good care of yourself after the worst of it is over. I am totally praying things work out for you this cycle, and even moreso after this experience. All my best!

Leave a Reply

