OHSS

13 Mar

[insert several expletives here]

 I had been having quite a bit of discomfort and swelling in my abdomen before ER – and they warned me that it would come back a few hours after the procedure and hang around for three days or so – but I wasn’t expecting this!

Over the past few days my stomach has swelled up to the point where I look several months pregnant – or like I swallowed a beach ball. It it so swollen that it is hard to the touch. It hurts really bad as well, because it is putting so much pressure on my internal organs – trying to move is agonizing. But, I knew this was a possibility and figured that as long as I wasn’t short of breath that I would be alright. Also, I wasn’t gaining any weight or getting any bigger – just staying the same miserable, swollen size.

Then last night I started puking. The swelling has apparently reached a point where there is no room left to put food into my body. I feel fine until I eat something (anything) and then it just comes right back up. Disgusting.

 I really didn’t want to call the RE because I am terrified that they are going to cancel my transfer – something I am adamantly against. I while I know that OHSS might lower my chances of becoming pregnant, I don’t think it will lower them more than having to do a FET would! Anyhow, when I work up this morning not feeling any better I finally decided that I had to call and admit to them what is going on because I can’t get any of my pills down. I have an appointment at 3:30 – please, please, please don’t let them cancel my transfer!!

5 Responses to “OHSS”

  1. Io March 13, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    Lala! Oh no! It Is better that you get it checked out though. Sucks. I hope you get better really, really quickly and they don’t cancel.

  2. S March 13, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    Oh no!!! Keep us posted..I hope you got the transfer!

  3. Michell March 13, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    I hope that everything at the appointment goes ok and you ET doesn’t get canceled. Many positive thoughts coming your way.

  4. Orodemniades March 13, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    No! I hope things worked out this afternoon…

  5. Amy March 13, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    Oh no!!! I hope they gave you IV fluids and I hope you are feeling better. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Hope your transfer stays on schedule. :::hugs:::

Leave a Reply

