Just in time for Easter

11 Mar

ER done. Final count? 14 mature eggs!! Woooohooo! (thank you Granie)

When I woke up the first thing out of the nurses mouth was “14”. I thought she meant that they got 14 all together and I was disappointed because they had counted 24 follies on Saturday, so I was surprised when she looked disappointed in my reaction. I asked if 14 was good and she looked at me like I was from Mars; “Heck yea 14 is good!” Finally I asked if that was the total of mature eggs, or just the total amount of eggs they retrieved – it was the total amount of MATURE eggs!

 As for the procedure itself; I’m not going to lie to you ladies, so if you have an ER coming up and are easily scared – STOP READING HERE!

I think I have had a bit of a harder time with this whole IVF thing than most to begin with. Not that it is EVER an easy thing to do, but I think that my raw emotions over losing my Granie have just added to everything. That said. Today was rough.

We got to the clinic an hour early because we were paranoid – so we ended up waiting FOREVER. Finally they called me back, had me change into a gown, put me in the OR, and ushered Hubby out of the room. Then the nurse came in and couldn’t find a vein for the IV (that’s typical, I have horrible veins) so she called the anesthesiologist in to give it a try. He got a vein on the first try on the top of my hand, but it hurt so bad that I jerked my hand back reflexively and blood shot all over the place. I kid you not, it looked like a horror movie and the anesthesiologist was NOT pleased with me. I felt like an ass, began apologizing profusely to everyone who would listen to me…and then started bawling. Oh, did I mention that I was strapped down at this point? Yeah. Hands out and tied to boards, legs up and tied in stirrups, monitors beeping away at me….

The nurse and the anesthesiologist were very nice, they told me not to worry about the mess and to not worry about crying. They said that most of the patients cry in the OR (I don’t believe them, but it made me feel better that they were trying to be comforting). 

Apparently at this point everyone else was ready to start but the surgeon was in a meeting. Great. I ended up being left alone in the room strapped to the table for about 15 minutes just listening to my heart rate. Finally a nurse came in and asked if I wanted to see my husband before they put me under…I said sure. Hubby got a sick amount of glee from seeing me strapped to an operating table, lol.

Anyhow, they finally all came in, kicked Hubby out and hit the lights. The anesthesia BURNED when they put it in my arm…it wasn’t unbearable…but it was definitely more than uncomfortable. I remember whining about that for a minute and then the oxygen mask went on, the dildo cam went in, and I have no memory of anything after that until waking up in the recovery room. Apparently I changed beds on my own and spoke to the staff…yeah…I have no memory of that what so ever.

The pain after the procedure was a lot worse than I was expecting – worse than after the LAP! But it only lasted a few hours and its pretty much gone now. I’m a bit sore and crampy, but otherwise fine.

Now we just have to pray that they fertilize and divide!! Go embies go!!!

Fert report tomorrow (fingers crossed).

PS On the way home I made Hubby stop at the 99 cent store and buy 10 pregnancy tests. Poor Hubby – I guess they gave him a really hard time in there about it.

19 Responses to “Just in time for Easter”

  1. Trace March 11, 2008 at 1:53 pm #

    Congrats on the successful ER!! I’ll be waiting to see how many fertilize!

  2. Io March 11, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    Um, spurting blood sounds horrible and my eyes are as big as saucers right now as I read this with horror. (Like I’m going to *listen* hen somebody tells me I might not want to read the rest.) BUT… 14! Mature! Eggs! That is AWESOME! Fertilize eggies, fertilize!

  3. Io March 11, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    Hey just replying to your comment here – yeah, the price break is ridiculous! I was hopeful b/c it’s so close, but I’m also applying to C**per. Do you know of other shared programs? They are so hard to find. I wish I could find one here in Indy or in NYC, but I don’t think they exist.

  4. S March 11, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    Congrats!! 14 is amazing. I can’t wait for the update on Wednesday!!

  5. Michell March 11, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    Glad that it went well and yes 14 eggs is great. Hope all those eggies fertilize wonderfully.

  6. JJ March 11, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    14 is GREAT! Cant wait to hear the fert report.

  7. candra March 11, 2008 at 4:11 pm #

    that is great to have 14 eggs. I am sending good luck vibes.

  8. Kymberli March 11, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    Great retrieval! Hope the fert report is just as wonderful.

  9. Vanessa March 11, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    YIPPEE!! You must be thrilled!

    My fingers will be crossed while I wait for an update 😀

  10. Cece March 11, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    Hurrah! 14 mature eggs is awesome. Sounds like you did great in spite of what you may think… can’t wait to hear your fert report.

  11. noswimmers March 11, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    I’m so glad things went (relatively) well for you, I have my fingers and toes crossed for a GREAT fertilization report!

  12. sara March 11, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    Great news on the 14! Mine is this upcoming monday..can’t wait!

  13. Freyja March 11, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m a total wus about pain. I’ve never had any broken bones in my life and the first surgery I ever had was my lap in December. I even still have my tonsils, wisdom teeth and appendix. I know, freakis, right? Anyway, while everyone else says HSGs and IUIs are nothing, I’m the one saying they SUCK. I’m petrified of an ER and thus, obviously, childbirth. Anyway, thanks for the candid rundown.

    And 14 mature eggs is pretty darn good! Congrats!

  14. Hopeful March 12, 2008 at 1:20 am #

    Fantastic news, 14 eggs! I remember back to my first go and I got 14 eggs, first and last time for that many eggs for me. Unfortunately that was before we knew we had to do ICSI and I had zero fertilization but am sure that won’t happen to you.

    Can’t wait to hear the report and when you decide how many you will be transferring.

    Go embies go

  15. futurewise March 12, 2008 at 1:40 am #

    14! Great news! I keep my fingers crossed for the party in the lab! Go embies go!

  16. twondra March 12, 2008 at 3:30 am #

    That’s awesome! can’t wait to hear the next result!!! Woohoo!!!

  17. ultimatejourney March 12, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    Congratulations!!! I can’t wait to hear the fertilization report!

  18. BlueBella March 12, 2008 at 4:48 am #

    Oh yeah for 14!!!! Way to go girl!
    Ok I’m singing the “blastocyst” song song for you, and will be sending all the positive vibes I can muster your way the next few days!
    And shame on hubby for taking advantage of your compromised position by thinking it’s funny:) Ok I think it’s funny, too . . .but seriously, shame on him! hah

  19. Shinejil March 12, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    Best of luck over the next few days! I hope all the discomfort will change to joy eventually.

    I hear you about the anesthesia. It’s like someone’s pumping ethanol into your arteries…

    Rest up and speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

