Thanks Guys

28 Feb

Thank you, everyone, for all of the sweet comments and the concern. My great grandmother is still with us at the moment, but they are expecting her to pass away within the next week or two at the most – they are just making her comfortable. She is in a coma-like state where she is basically unconscious but will occasionally open her eyes and look at you (at least, she seems to be, but she never really “wakes up”) and she occasionally calls out “Oh my God” or calls “Momma” or “Mommy”. I spent the past two days sitting by her bed and holding her hand (sometimes she would even squeeze back)…I am really glad that I was able to do that.

I am just going to have to play school and work by ear I guess…there is no way to plan anything in my life right now. I hate it – but that’s just the way it is.

As for the IVF, we have decided to move ahead with it. I asked the doctor about it and she said that she thinks the timing is actually perfect – this way I won’t be able to obsess on either thing too much. She does (sort of) have a point there. Plus, when it came right down to it, I couldn’t bear the thought of starting all over – everything is going so well right now. So, I had my baseline and BW yesterday and got the all clear. Estrogen was 25 – is that high??

Tonight we start stims. I have the FolliStim pen…but the menopur is going to be intramuscular!? I am *so* not looking forward to this. I wonder if Hubby will be willing to stab himself again?? =)

8 Responses to “Thanks Guys”

  1. Michelle February 28, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    I’m really glad you got to go spend time with your grandma. That is something you will always be glad you took the time to do. I have to agree with your dr about going ahead with the treatments too. Just be sure you take time to breathe and relax as much as possible under the circumstances.

  2. Io February 28, 2008 at 1:51 pm #

    I am so sorry about your great grandmother. It was so hard to lose my grandmother last year – I visited her every day and it was very hard near the end. I think your doctor probably does have a good point – doing IVF at the same time may keep you from obsessing over one. Hopefully you will have a beautiful beginning to a new life even as you celebrate a beautiful life lived.

  3. Hopeful February 28, 2008 at 2:03 pm #

    I’m glad you got to go and see your gran, you won’t regret it. I am also glad to hear that you are going ahead with your cycle. FX and thinking of you.

  4. Amy February 28, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    I’m so very glad you got to see your great-grandmother. It sounds like she sensed your presence by squeezing your hand. I hope she is resting peacefully now.

    I am also very glad that you decided to continue with your IVF cycle! I think your RE has a good point, too. Your baseline E2 is perfect – my RE is happy with anything under 35. Good luck starting stims tonight – crazy you have to do the Menopur IM, but I’m sure you’ll get in a routine and it’ll be okay. The pain is temporary, but the rewards will last a lifetime 🙂

  5. twondra February 29, 2008 at 4:00 am #

    I’m glad you were able to spend some time with her. Sounds like she knew you were there, too. 🙂

    I hope the shots go okay. I’m glad you decided to continue with IVF. I think your great-grandmother would’ve been happy about that.

    Hang in there sweetie! We’re all here for you!

  6. JJ February 29, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    Thinking of you during this tough time…

  7. Michell February 29, 2008 at 11:52 am #

    Glad you got to spend some time with your grandmother. Good luck with the shots. Your menopur is IM? Mine was sub Q. Hope it all goes well.

  8. futurewise February 29, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    As you know, I went through the similar situation like you. It is difficult, but at the end- I am glad our granny ended her life surounded by her loved ones. But don’t let it get you down… Good luck with the injections, it is stressfull but hold on!

Leave a Reply

