No more BCP!!!

23 Feb

I FINALLY finished those stupid birth control pills last night (I had to switch from taking them in the morning to taking them at night because they were giving me headaches). Yuck! I hope that’s the last of those!!

Still no issues with the Lupron (whew). But I start stims on Thursday and I’m starting to get nervous. Well, more nervous.

Everyone keeps telling me that I have to believe that it is going to work and that I can’t be stressed out or I will not get pregnant. That just makes me feel even WORSE and stress even more because I can’t help being skeptical…I mean, nothing else has worked, its pretty hard to believe that this will. Besides, facts are facts – it doesn’t work for everyone all the time. I have a cousin who just had an unsuccessful IVF cycle in fact. (She is quite a bit older than me, but still…) I am just a high stress person, so telling me NOT to stress just makes me stress more!

I guess I have to just sit back and let things happen and not worry about them any more than I already am. I am  high stress…that’s the way it is. Either I’ll get pregnant despite the stress, or I won’t.

I was wondering;
Do I need to stop getting my nails done? I have acrylic nails (something I don’t do all the time, and am not that attached to, but I happen to have them right now) – do I need to take them off before I start stimming??

I am also wondering about my job. My RE requires 3 days of strict bedrest after transfer…but for my job I drive all over (and I mean ALLL over, 3 thousand + miles a month) – should I take more than 3 days off so the babies can implant without being jarred loose in the car?

I’m really losing it, aren’t I?

 PS HUGE congrats to “No Swimmers in the Tubes, No Bun in the Oven” who just got her BFP after 5 years of trying!!!!!!! Congratulations!!!!

9 Responses to “No more BCP!!!”

  1. noswimmers February 23, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    Awww…thanks for the congrats!

    I’m not sure about the nails…I’m a chronic nail-chewer, so not the one to answer that one.

    As far as the car/driving goes; I also drive a lot for work. I actually find it quite relaxing, but most of my driving is done on nice smooth interstate. I doubt you’ll have to take more than 3 days. Trust me…by the 3rd day you’ll be BEGGING to go back to work!

    Oh, and don’t worry about the “stress”. It’s impossible to NOT be stressed during a cycle. Just take some time to meditate/do some deep breathing throughout the day to calm yourself down.

    Fingers crossed for you!!

  2. twondra February 24, 2008 at 5:03 am #

    I’m a nervous, worrying person, too, so I understand! I don’t know about the nails at all. And I really don’t know what to tell you about the job. Man, I’m not much help at all, am I? 😦

  3. Babychaser February 24, 2008 at 6:33 am #

    That “stress” think is just a bunch of bullshit. Here’s how I see it: maybe there’s some truth to the stress/infertility link when you’re trying to conceive naturally. I can imagine that being stressed out can affect your hormone levels, which can affect your ovulation, and everything has to time out just right.

    But with IVF, all that stuff is hijacked by science. Your body is no longer creating its own hormones, you’re injecting them into you twice a day! Is stress drying up your cervical mucous? No worries, because the sperm are never going to touch that stuff–they’re going straight into the dish with the eggs. (Or, if you’re doing ICSI like me, the sperm are getting injected directly into the eggs!)

    So don’t fret about fretting. IVF is stressful, especially the first time when you don’t know the drill. Just let it be stressful and try to maintain your sanity as best as possible.

    As far as the bed rest goes, my RE, who I think is anal as hell, only requires 2 days of bedrest. And even that seems like a lot. So I think you’re fine with three days.

  4. Amy February 24, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    Everytime a negative thought starts coming into my thoughts, I consciously (and forcibly!) push it out and tell myself that I WILL be pregnant in a few weeks! I find that if I flood my brain with positive thoughts that it doesn’t leave much room for the bad ones 🙂 Congrats on finishing BCP! I don’t know about the acrylic nails, but I would hold off if for no other reason that to keep from giving yourself something else to worry about. I’m holding off on getting my highlights retouched for the same reason.

  5. ultimatejourney February 24, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    Things are really moving along!!! Good luck!

    My philosophy was always to err on the side of caution so I couldn’t second-guess myself later on, but you should do whatever works for you.

  6. Hopeful February 24, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    I have never heard that you should have your nails removed so think that they will be fine. As for the negative self talk, you wouldn’t be normal if you didn’t do that. I started IVF when about 28 and unfortunately it didn’t work for us, I have a friend who is now pregnant and started at about 25, this was her 12th go at IVF, I don’t want to sound like it doesn’t work but at least you have your eyes open, it does work on 1 go, it has and it will continue to for some couples, I just hope that it will for you too.

  7. La La February 24, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Hopeful – 12!? tries????? Holy crap. I wish I had that sort of stamina…even IF we had the $$ I don’t know that I could put myself through this that many times. =( Wow.

    Not us though…we are going to try this once *MAYBE* twice…and if that doesn’t work its either back to DI or adoption for us – unfortunatly.

  8. futurewise February 25, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    It is very hard to resist negative thoughts. I sometimes fight the negative vibes and sometimes I cry and scream and feel sorry for myself. Either way, at the end I feel the same- empty. Childless. One day I know, by adoption/DI, I will be a parent.

  9. Io February 25, 2008 at 7:53 am #

    So should I tell you to stress? 🙂 I think you’ll be ok.

Leave a Reply

