First Lupron Injection – done.

18 Feb
ttcwithinjec.gif

That was much more of an ordeal than I thought it would be. I was expecting to be able to give it to myself, no problems. Yeah well…I totally freaked when it came right down to it. I kept giving it to Hubby and telling him to do it, and then yelling “Nooooo, don’t do it!”. ROFL

Finally I managed to do it myself and I don’t think I’ll have any more problems in the future…it was just getting over that initial gross out of having to stab yourself in the stomach. That, and I kept bursting into tears and saying “What if we do all this for nothing?” ::sigh:: But, I guess you gotta chase your dreams, right? Hubby keeps saying that we have to try or we will regret it for the rest of our lives.

Hubby was SO cute, BTW. He went and got one of the needles and poked himself in the stomach a few times to show me that it didn’t hurt and so that I wouldn’t be the only one getting jabbed in the gut today. ❤ Now that’s love.

After I put it in, the site swelled and itched for awhile. Nothing too bad though. So far I haven’t felt any side effects – though it would be hard to tell because I’m battling a migraine today anyway.

8 Responses to “First Lupron Injection – done.”

  1. Trace February 18, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    My MS med is a daily injection (like a diabetic). I do it everyday (except during this 2 week wait time) and yes, after 8 years I still hesitate a little. I have an injection pen too and it doen’t hurt or anything. I do know about the itching your referring to. When you swab the injection site w/alchohol make sure you let it dry all the way because it will burn more.

    I know exactly what you mean abou not working. I feel that way. I’m having the worst time thinking using donor sperm will work. There is no reason why it won’t work, but I’m not confident.

  2. Amy February 18, 2008 at 6:08 pm #

    What a great hubby to poke himself with a needle a few times to make you feel better about it. That’s really cute. I’m sorry you’ve been battling a migraine today… hope you feel better!

  3. futurewise February 18, 2008 at 11:47 pm #

    You are so brave! I guess if Ihad to do it – it will look the same. The first time is always the hardest, so from now on you should get better and get used to injections (although I am not sure I will ever get used to needles)… ((HUGS))

  4. twondra February 19, 2008 at 3:43 am #

    Aww, your hubby is so sweet! I don’t think my hubby would do that. Glad you got over the initial one….I hope the rest go much smoother!

  5. Michelle February 19, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    My sister had to go through that about two years ago to get the baby she has now. I’m really sorry yuo have to go through all of that. I hope it only gets easier. What a cute sweetie you are married to. I’m just glad he’s by your side and helping you get through all of this.

  6. Vanessa February 19, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    Im glad that it went well and you were able to get over your initial fear 😀

    Best of luck

    XOXO

  7. Tashida February 19, 2008 at 6:21 pm #

    Yep! Really not that bad once you do it! Funny though my hubby and I just went through the okay go….no no wait with my PIO shot tonight!

  8. Hopeful February 20, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    You my friend have been TAGGED!

    I loved your wedding slideshow. Boy your fella is tall or you are really really short!

Leave a Reply

