We Got The Loan!!

1 Feb

                                                                    excited_man_2.gif

OMG. Its all really going to happen now. We are really going to do this. I understand it, but I can’t wrap my brain around it just yet. We gave up on IVF a long, LONG time ago…it was way too expensive and we both decided that it was simply out of the questions…and look where we ended up! I just took my fourth BCP today. I start injectables in another week or two.

 Of course, all of this is presuming that everything with the LAP and the hysteroscopy turn out ok. They are both next week. I am really not looking forward to those, I just want them over with. At least maybe I’ll have answers by the end of next week, it would be really interesting to know if my tubes are blocked or something. On one hand, I am really hoping that they find nothing wrong in either test, because that will (in theory anyway) give me the best shot at having a baby. On the other hand though, I it would almost be nice to know that there was a reason for all of this….just so long as it is something fixable!

In other interesting news, Hubby did another semanalysis for the RE the other day…and it came out MUCH higher than the one he did several years ago. In ’05 the count was 2 million with 70% not swimming. Last week it was 7 million with 50% not swimming. AND, we messed up the test…..we forgot all about it and had sex the night before. Oops. So, that could mean that his counts are as high as 14 million? With 50% motility…..that is approaching normal, isn’t it (around 20 million with 60% motile is considered normal, I believe). Hubby was elated, of course…but it scared the crap out of me. Can you see where I am going with this???

If his count IS as high as I think it might be, why am I not pregnant? That means there IS definitely something wrong with me….Yeah, the counts are still low, and who knows how long they have even been this high, but after 4 years……OH well. I guess it doesn’t matter now anyway. The surgery(s) will happen next week, we’ll find out if something is wrong with me, and then we’ll do IVF. Still, I just can’t stop worrying about what they might find….

I am also having some feelings of guilt about my blog going from being about DI to being about IVF. Never, in my wildest dreams, did I think that IVF would EVER be a possibility for us…and I feel sort of guilty that it turned out that way. Of course I have no idea what will happen if this doesn’t work. DI is definitely still on the table. So is adoption. If Hubby’s counts really are as high as we think they may be, maybe even IUI with Hubby’s swimmers. I just don’t know…

PS Today is CD 7 and I am STILL spotting from the end of AF. I NEVER bleed for this long, I think its the pills. Is this normal, or should I let the RE know???

6 Responses to “We Got The Loan!!”

  1. Vanessa February 1, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    OMGoodness 😀 Im so thrilled for you! Deep down I knew it would happen for you 😛

    Try not to worry about the tests, you will have some answers soon enough. For now just enjoy the fact that something worked out your way 😉

    XOXO

  2. Amy February 1, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    Yay yay yay! I’m so excited for you! Sounds like you’re going to be a week or so ahead of me. I can’t wait to follow your progress and see that BFP soon. Don’t fret about why you haven’t gotten pregnant, because sometimes it’s just one of those mysteries of life without a good explanation. I hope your lap goes well and that you recover quickly. I’m stalking! 🙂

  3. Tashida February 1, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    Happy that you are moving on to IVF. Yes, it is normal to spot on BCPs….totally normal! Good luck with your upcoming surgeries and IVF cycle.

  4. Orodemniades February 2, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Woohoo for the loan and the swimmers! (can you imagine any other time when one woman congratulates another on the state of her husband’s sperm? yeah, me neither, lol) My understanding is that sperm counts can change from week to week, although things such as motility tend to be more consistent.

    Good luck with the surgery, and yes, it’s probably the BCP’s causing the bleeding (maybe a different brand and mix would be better?).

  5. Trace February 2, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    Feel no guilt. Life happens. I went from adoption to donor insemination. Good luck w/everything! That is so exciting!!! Sending those good vibes your way :-).

  6. Michelle February 4, 2008 at 8:03 pm #

    Yay! What awesome news all around! I’m so glad things are looking up. I hope they continue to look up and you get that positive test before you know it. 😀

Leave a Reply

