Scary

22 Jan

As most of you know already, I wrote the sperm bank Hubby and I used for the past two cycles (the ONLY bank we have ever used) to let them know about the ureaplasma and strep infection and to let them know that they may want to test the donor that we used for those two infections (they are NOT something this bank normally screens for). This is what I received as a response:

I’m very sorry that you have had to deal with the infections you have noted.
There is always the possibility of bacteria in semen specimens. The possibility of specimens containing those bacteria that the FDA has listed as relevant is extremely low through the testing and retesting and quarantine that the donors are put though.  The possibility of other bacterial contaminants is still low, but higher than the aformentioned group.  Donors are not tested for every known bacteria and virus. Donors are not currently tested and treated for Ureaplasma and Strep, and there are other extremely common bacteria and virus as well that could conceivably find their way into a sepcimen through the collection process.
We would hate to think that you’ve contacted these bacteria through frozen specimens, but the possibility could exist, however small, and is indeed part of the risk during such exposure(insemination). As our paperwork notes, there have been no antibiotics used in specimen preparation in order to avoid negative reaction with those people having sensitivities or allergies.  Specimens can be exposed to antibiotics by your physician or lab after thawing if deemed neccessary by adding atibiotic or through washing the specimen with media containing antibiotic.
We have no other similar reports even though there has been wide use of the donor. 
We certainly appreciate being advised of your experience.

We wish you early success and appreciate your trust and business.

There is no way to know how I got this, and honestly it probably WASN’T the sperm, but I do think its scary that no one tests for this. I also found it interesting that they say that our donor was used often, yet he has no reported pregnancies. Hmmm. If we return to the donor sperm game, I think we’ll be trying with a different donor next time around.

5 Responses to “Scary”

  1. Michell January 22, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    It is interesting that there is a possibility that you could get some sort of bacteria or something from a sperm donor. However I understand that they can’t possibly test for every single possible contaminant. It would be almost impossible to do so. I’m sure they pick the ones that are the most common or the most infectious. That said I think I’d switch donors too.

  2. noswimmers January 22, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    Ewww…just thinking about bacteria in the swimmers makes me sick. I’ve never really thought about that before. Hopefully you didn’t get it from the spermies.

    Probably not a bad idea switching donors. I say if you haven’t had success in a couple cycles, switch ‘er up!

  3. Trace January 22, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    Different banks test different things. For example, when I was researching banks to find Spanky II, I learned that Fairfax (and CA) is one of the few that check for HIV. WHAT?

  4. twondra January 23, 2008 at 4:01 am #

    Wow…I hadn’t really thought about contracting that. It makes you think.

  5. Vanessa January 23, 2008 at 6:59 pm #

    How odd, I really never thought about this possibility before. But I will now.

Leave a Reply

