This Week (in a nutshell)

13 Jan

I finally heard back from the RE as to what our discount is going to be: 40%!!! Yippie!

I have also decided to go ahead with the laproscopy which is scheduled for February 8th. I called the RE and asked two different people if they would accept the lap instead of the hestryoscopy and got told both no and yes. So, I’m just going to do it (without doing the dye part) and hope that they accept it. I assume that they will since all they are looking for is anything that would prevent an embryo from implanting (fibroids, infected tubes, etc) and they will be able to see any of those things during the lap. Whether or not my tubes are actually blocked really shouldn’t matter if we are doing IVF, and if they end up wanting it after all then I am hoping that their price for JUST the HSG will be lower than adding it to my surgery would be.

I am also just about ready to sent off my grad school application packet. I just met with my last professor who is writing a letter of recommendation for me today, now I just have to fine tune the letter of intent and mail that sucker off. Too bad I have zero confidence and had to send copies to everyone I know to proof read before I will go anywhere near the post office with the damn thing. For some reason I am utterly convinced that everyone is going to take one look at what I have written, determine that I am a hopeless moron, and black list me from all graduate programs for the rest of all time.

I have no idea how long they will make me wait to start my IVF after the lap (anyone know?) but I am sort of thinking about doing it in April so that I will be able to start grad school in the Fall (if I get in) and that way I won’t end up going into labor before finals! lol I will take a quarter off when I have the baby, but they won’t let you take the first quarter you are admitted off or else they make you re-apply (and there is no WAY I want to go through all of this again).

I guess that’s all for now. Not a terribly exciting blog, I know…but I think my poor brain just has nothing left to give after agonizing over that damn letter for all of these months!

7 Responses to “This Week (in a nutshell)”

  1. BlueBella January 13, 2008 at 4:16 am #

    Don’t worry, doll – you’ll get into grad school – you’re too smart not to! Ship that puppy off!
    Hope everything goes well with the lap, too.

  2. Vanessa January 13, 2008 at 6:53 am #

    Oh, Im so glad that you got that done and over with. Im sure that you have nothing to worry about 🙂

    As for IVF, Im thrilled that you guys get such a significant discount. That should really help ease your mind and financial burdens.

    Im glad everything seems to be falling into place.

    Happy weekend

  3. twondra January 13, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    I think you worry too much girl. 🙂 I’m sure it’s fine. Sounds like everything is going well. I’m so happy for you!

  4. Michell January 13, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    Good luck with the grad school application. I can’t even imagine how difficult and anxiety producing that is. I hope the lap goes well and good luck with the IVF. April sounds like a good time frame.

  5. orodemniades January 13, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    Great news!!

  6. futurewise January 13, 2008 at 9:57 pm #

    You simply worry too much- you only hurt yourself when you worry about things you can’t change. I am sure that this year will be “fruitful” for you!

  7. ChelleBez January 14, 2008 at 8:45 pm #

    I think you made the right choice with the lap. As for how long you have to wait, I’m not sure on IVF, but we only had to wait out one cycle because I was on birth control trying to rebuild my uterine lining. I would imagine you would only have to wait about a month, but I’m not sure.

    Good luck with the grad school apps!

Leave a Reply

