To Whom it May Concern

8 Jan

Dear Creepy Guy from Car Rental Place,
I am writing to let you know that using terms such as “cock blocking” while driving someone (particularly a female) around whom you have just met is not exactly appropriate. I would expect someone in a customer service position to already know such a thing, and I was particularly surprised when you later mentioned that you are involved in youth ministry – do you also use that sort of language around children? When you later began telling me your own personal philosophies on homosexuality (that people are gay because they have been sexually abused and that homosexuality was a symptom of their being sin in the world) I quickly realized that you were simply extremely unintelligent. I would ask if it ever occurred to you that I might be attracted to members of the same sex, but I somehow doubt that thinking is an activity which you indulge in on a regular basis.

Dear God,
I just wanted to write you a quick note to let you know that I did not mean all of those things that I said yesterday while I was driving home covered in ice cold goo. I do understand that things in my life could be worse and I do not wish to experience alternate possibilities. Please disregard any statement including the phrases “God hates me”, “Bring it on”, or “What else could possibly go wrong?”. Thank you.

***********************************************************

I’m having a bit of trouble making my mind up about something. I got a call today from my OBGYN, they got the Lap covered by my insurance but that they would not be able to check my tubes with the dye (and I checked with the RE and they said that that would be all they need from me to move ahead,they do not need the dye done)…but they cannot get me in until February 8th. My copay for that would be $250

OR I could have the RE’s office do a hysteroscopy for $900. The advantage here would be that they WOULD check my tubes (no real reason that I need that done, now that we are doing IVF, but I would really like to know) and that I bet they would be able to get me in sooner. The downside is that I would be awake and its going to HURT. Though probably not as bad as the surgery would.

So really, I would prefer to get the hysteroscopy done…but I just don’t know if I can justify it for the amount of $ I would save by doing the other. Money is tight particularly now that my car has broken down and I am likely going to have to buy a new car within the next week or two.

What do you guys think?? Which one should I do?

(I forgot to mention that the doc wants to do the Lap because he suspects endo – though he cant find any evidence of it when he does physical exams. Does that mean I have to do the Lap or with IVF will endo not matter?)

10 Responses to “To Whom it May Concern”

  1. noswimmers January 8, 2008 at 8:31 pm #

    What a creepy guy! Ick, I would totally complain to the management. Its amazing how ignorant some people can be. You should have thrown some pink goo on him.

    As for the procedures, I really don’t know what to tell you. I had an HSG (with the dye) before we did our IVF, just to make sure nothing was wrong on my end…but it was covered by my insurance. Not sure what I would have done if I were in your shoes.

    Not much help, am I? Sorry.

  2. Shop Girl January 8, 2008 at 9:38 pm #

    Funny post (the first half).

    As for your dilemma…I have very limited knowledge on this. I myself did an HSG, which is how they found I had one blocked tube. This mattered for me since I did IUI, but if it doesn’t really matter for you, would you be ok just not knowing? A good friend of mine has endo and has been doing IVF, and I think it would be good to confirm whether you have it or not. So I guess my vote would be for confirming that fact.

  3. Shop Girl January 8, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    Here’s a great site that gives lots of details on various IF-related procedures. This link talks specifically about laps:

    http://stirrup-queens.blogspot.com/2006/07/laparoscopic-surgery-when.html

  4. Vanessa January 8, 2008 at 11:28 pm #

    I think I would probably do the HSG, even though its more expensive. At least you could do it sooner, and then get started on everything else.

    That rental guy sounds like a psycho, I would report him. I mean who wants to deal with that when they are already having a bad day and car troubles.

  5. Michell January 9, 2008 at 6:41 am #

    Not sure on the lap vs. the hysteroscopy. As far as creepy guy, I’d tell car rental company because if he’s being that inappropriate with you he’s doing it with others and they need to know.

  6. twondra January 9, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    I don’t know about the lap and HSG. I’m sorry. 😦

    I agree with the others…what a creepy guy. I would definitely say something…and throwing pink goo on him sounds fun. 🙂

  7. ChelleBez January 9, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    Personally, I would go for the lap. If you do have endo, like me, it could be your only problem (at least I pray it was our only problem; time will tell). Not only that, but if you DO have endo, it will only get worse as you get older, so its better to get it out even if it doesn’t increase your chances of conceiving on your own. Add to that the insurance covers it and they put you out. Perhaps it is possible to pay a little extra and have your dr check your tubes while he’s in there? I personally think you should go for the one that would be most likely to increase your chances, which would seem to be to be the lap. Additionally, endo increases your chances of miscarriage if you do have it and do get pg.

    Feb 8 really isn’t that far away. Especially in the grand scheme of things. I know it feels like forever though and you want to get started now. It was six weeks before I finally got in for my surgery after we had opted to go that route. It took three weeks to get me in for a pre-op appointment, and then another 3 before they could get me in for the surgery. I convinced myself it would be nice to take a break from counting cycle days so I wouldn’t think about the fact that we lost two cycles waiting for the surgery. I actually really enjoyed the break.

    Feb 8 is only a month away. You can take that time to relax your nerves a bit and clear your head. I’m sure your body would appreciate it too. I know my nerves needed and appreciate it.

    Those are my two cents, coming from personal experience. Good luck with the decision. 🙂

  8. RainbowMomma January 10, 2008 at 1:09 am #

    I just got caught up on your last two posts. I commented on the last one even though you might not see it. (Unless you now go bakc and look since I told you. HeeHee!)

    I haven’t had either one of those procedures, nor have I read about them, so I’ll reserve judgement.

  9. twondra January 10, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    Thanks so much for the wonderful support on my blog! It means a lot! (((HUGS)))

  10. noswimmers January 10, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    EMAIL ME: noswimmers at gmail dot com…my FIL forwards me the So Cal RESOLVE newsletter, and there’s some info in there about a FREE IVF cycle/trial.

    Send me an email and I’ll forward it to you.

    How awesome would that be?!?

Leave a Reply

