I never thought I would say this….

4 Jan

…but I think we might do IVF. Yeah. My stomach lurches every time I say that.

Let me start from the beginning: First thing this morning was the RE. I pretty much wrote it off as soon as we pulled up to the building – it looked more like a four star hotel than an infertility clinic (I kept thinking of the TV show Private Practice, lol)! I figured the prices were going to be astronomical, just like every other IF clinic in So Cal.

The doc took us in, asked a 101 questions and then only glanced at my charts before announcing that he highly recommended IVF and that yes, he was sure that I am (indeed) not ovulating. At least not regularly. To give the readers digest version he feels that our only chance at pregnancy with IUI & donor sperm would be to do cycles using injectables and that, even with that, there would only be a 20% chance of success per cycle. Oh yeah, and that would cost about $3,000/month AFTER the cost of diagnosing and treating whatever the heck might be wrong with me in the first place. Wonderful. So I’m pretty much in tears while he goes on and on about how he has helped people in our situation (where the husband has kidney problems) and that he didn’t charge that couple very much because they couldn’t afford it but that they were so nice he just had to help them…yadda, yadda yadda…I wasn’t really listening at that point. I just figured it was a sales pitch.

Next we were ushered into another office where another doctor described the procedure to us…blah, blah, blah…again Mrs. La La is busy choking back tears and not really listening to that part either. Besides, I have a pretty good idea of what IVF entails – though I did not enjoy the visual aids of the egg retrieval OR when she pulled out all the needles. Yikes!

Finally, we were shuffled off to yet another office where we were given the financial run down. Dum, dum, dum…Shockingly, not as bad as I had expected! Holy effin crap. I mean, its still a huge chunk of money…but I just might be able to finance our butts off and make it happen. Pretty much we are looking at a) whatever the labs cost (I’ll get to that in a minute), b) meds (about $1,000), and c) the IVF itself which will run anywhere from $5,333 to $10,700 depending on financial need!I was completely shocked! I’m not going to get my hopes up that we will get the biggest discount, but I don’t think we’ll end up paying the whole $10,700 either. It will be hard, but I just might be able to work that out.

Next (I know, long blogs these days…sorry guys) we went to my OB to deal with the whole laprascopy mess & to get my pelvic done. We figured while we were there we would have the doc also run whatever cultures and labs for the IVF that he could get my insurance to cover. The first thing he said when he walked into the room was “Don’t worry about the lap. It got submitted wrong and I took care of it myself. I may not be able to get the HSG covered, but the lap will get done.” I asked him if I could just pay for the HSG out of pocket since he was already going to be in there and he said that would be fine. Sweet Jesus…could things ACTUALLY be going my way today?? I then handed him all of the paperwork from the RE and – it was so cute – he was really, really excited! (I know its prolly because he gets a kick back by referring me, but I’m going to pretend that he was just happy for us, lol.)

Anyhow…somewhere along the way…Hubby and I just decided “Fuck it, we’re here…lets take the first step at least”…and we ended up doing all the cultures and lab work! 17 vials of blood ladies and gentlemen, and one VERY invasive pelvic exam (Oooooouch!). Now all we have left is a second semenalysis and an STD test for Hubby and my day 3 laps. Oh, and the HSG & lap.

Wow.

It hasn’t really hit me yet that we are doing this. Oh my god, are we really doing this???!!! Hubby’s baby? I can’t even imagine…we gave up that dream so long ago. I better not get my hopes up yet.

10 Responses to “I never thought I would say this….”

  1. orodemniades January 4, 2008 at 4:12 am #

    Wow, great news!!

    And the injections? Easy peasy. I promise. Doesn’t mean ya have to like ’em, but they’re not the horror story they’re made out to be…heck, some days I forgot whether or not I’d actually done an injection…

  2. twondra January 4, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    I’m so happy things worked out. I hope you get a huge discount sweetie! 🙂

  3. Trace January 4, 2008 at 3:47 pm #

    OH MY GOSH! Very exciting stuff!!!

  4. Shop Girl January 4, 2008 at 4:50 pm #

    Very exciting step! Fingers crossed for you…

  5. Vanessa January 4, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Sounds amazing 🙂 I had a feeling that things were going to be better then you expected! Congrats and good luck 🙂

    XOXO

  6. JJ January 4, 2008 at 8:34 pm #

    Holy cow! Lots has happened in 24 hours! Best of luck on this new path!

  7. Hopeful January 4, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    I am so glad to hear that you can afford to go the IVF 🙂 I still can’t believe the cost in other countries though, here in OZ its about $2500-$3000 out of pocket because out Government Medicare cover the rest, and thats public or private. Good luck with all the testing.

  8. Michell January 4, 2008 at 11:39 pm #

    That is great news. I’m very excited for you however I would question the part about the meds. My meds were 3K. The rest of it sounds about the same. My office breaks it down as 3500 for the IVF, almost 3600 for the embryology lab and facility fee which includes the egg retrieval. Then about 3K for meds. I hope that you are able to get this done. It does often feel like it’s the best choice as far as possibility of success.

  9. noswimmers January 5, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    So you are able to use hubby’s sperm? Eeek–so excited for you!
    No worries about the shots, they’re not as bad as you think.

  10. ultimatejourney January 5, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    Wow, you just never know when things are going to turn around, huh? This is a very exciting development!

Leave a Reply

