To Summerize:

26 Dec

I’ve had a few people ask me questions about our situation lately so I thought I would post and address them all at once rather than email responses…mostly because I’m not 100% sure that I know how to do it the other way! 😉

A lot of people ask why Hubby and I are not having labs and/or tests done, why we are not using his sperm, and why we are not doing IVF. The answer to all of these is that our insurance does not cover infertility in any way, shape, or form. If I even call my gyno to ask for a consultation because it is taking awhile for me to become pregnant – I have to pay for it out of pocket. This includes labs, HSG, IVF…anything and everything do to with infertility (both to diagnose and to treat it).

Now, I would be very willing to pay for some of these things out of pocket (I really want the blood work and the HSG done) BUT no one seems to be able to tell me how much they are going to cost and Hubby and I do not make enough money to be paying sky high medical bills without budgeting for them and knowing exactly how much they are going to be. I have tried asking my Dr & calling around to different fertility clinics and they all keep telling me that I have to wait until I get the bills for the procedures to see how much I am going to owe. Um, sorry. Fuck that.

I’m not giving up, I am still trying to find a way to get a quote and get this stuff done…but so far I have been trying for several months and have made no progress. I have an order waiting at the lap to do day 3 blood work…but I can’t show up and have it done and then get blindsided by the price after the fact. =/

As for why we are not doing IVF/using Hubby’s sperm; We would LOVE to do IVF but right now we have decided that it is just not appropriate for us at this time. We would have to finance it (and in So Cal it is EXTREMELY expensive!) and we would only be able to afford one try. We thought about it but decided in the end that financing our butts off for one try would be more than we could bear if i didn’t work. We are by no means giving up on having “our” biological child. We are hoping that after Hubby gets a transplant his fertility will go back up – or perhaps one day we will be able to work IVF into the budget. For right now, however, foster-adoption or home IUI using donor sperm are our only options.

I hope this helps to clarify a bit for everyone…I know I ramble on sometimes and jump from topic to topic. =) Thank you so much for all of the support (as always), I really appreciate each and every one of you.

8 Responses to “To Summerize:”

  1. Vanessa December 26, 2007 at 8:53 pm #

    Lala, I totally understand about how expensive everything can cost. Im right there with you. We are lucky enough to be able to afford the donor sperm, and adding blood tests and procedures isn’t an option, at least not right now. I really hope that home ai’s work for you 🙂

  2. Michell December 26, 2007 at 11:32 pm #

    You are right, everything is very expensive, especially IVF and I can totally understand why you aren’t doing that. The only reason I can is because I am currently working as a traveling nurse. I can’t believe that these places can’t seem to give you an up front cash cost for stuff. Through my RE they scheduled the HSG and told me what it would cost me before I ever went to the appointment. The doctors office did not do the HSG, the imaging place did. Have you tried calling around to various imaging places? Also when I’ve went to Quest labs if I tell them I want to pay up front as my insurance doesn’t cover they have given me a discounted cash price. I don’t know if this helps as you may have already done but just and idea to call around and ask for the cash price for this or labs maybe? If the lab itself can’t tell you then ask to speak to billing. Also try independant labs like Quest or Labcorp, not the lab at the doctors office that is often just a satelite of the main facility. Good luck.

  3. orodemniades December 26, 2007 at 11:57 pm #

    Ah, I get it! For what it’s worth, my second HSG was, if I recall rightly, around $2000 – but I could be wrong. The hospital I attended has a 49% patient discount, so I might have only paid around $1000, and most of that was for the dye. Physician’s costs came in around $250?

    I agree with Michell, definitely ask around to see if you can get a cash discount, plus independent labs. Is there any way your GP would recommend you having an HSG for, say, um, “unexplained uterine pain” rather than infertility issues? Hmm, you’ve already had internal ultrasounds so those are out…

    Hope that helps a bit!

  4. La La December 27, 2007 at 1:24 am #

    I haven’t tried calling the imaging places or labs directly yet – though thanks for the idea, I’ll be trying that next. I am going to try and get in touch wtih my clinic’s billing department tomorrow to see if they can tell me anything and if they can’t I’ll move on from there.

  5. Michell December 27, 2007 at 2:43 am #

    The imaging place my RE works with has a thing set up for patients without insurance coverage for the HSG, I paid 425.00 for mine cash at the time of the procedure. There is definitely a difference if you comparison shop. Also labs I had to have for IVF ranged anywhere from 200 to 400 depending on the lab I went to. Good luck.

  6. noswimmers December 27, 2007 at 4:20 am #

    Infertility is so freakin’ expensive…my biggest pet peeve. How can young-ish couples starting out possibly afford these crazy prices?

    Maybe its because I live in a smaller town, but I was able to get a “quote” on all procedures. Maybe you could even schedule some time to sit down and chat with someone in the billing office? You want the tests to make sure all the swimmer money isn’t going to waste!

    BTW, I’m back in the tundra–I certainly enjoyed your weather, lucky girl!!

  7. twondra December 27, 2007 at 11:40 am #

    It gets expensive and it’s so sad and so hard. It’s not fair. I agree with the others…you should be able to get a quote and I just can’t believe no one can give you one. How frustrating. Hang in there hon. We’re all here. 🙂

  8. Michell December 27, 2007 at 4:20 pm #

    Hey LaLa, in response to your comment, I’m in Fresno. Not super close to you but not horribly far away either. If you have any other questions e-mail me at battystamper at comcast dot net

Leave a Reply

