Obsessed Student Syndrome

22 Dec

Look at what a great and faithful blogger I am when I am not in school. =)

Speaking of school…grades came yesterday. (gulp)
While they are not BAD, per se, they are bad for me and now I am bummed and don’t know what to do next. I got an A, a B and a C. The C makes me angry – its only my second one! But the B makes me madder than anything else; it was in an Anthro class. A class which I could teach myself (I know the material THAT well), and I got a friggin B! The teacher for this class – mmmm, yeah. Only a world famous anthropologist. Only one of my role models (famous FEMALE anthropologist). Only the last person I was hoping to get a letter of rec from (due in March, by the way) for my graduate program. Annnnnd I totally effed up the final (It was a paper. And I left until the last minute, and then ran out of time before I could even proof read it!).

Now I don’t know what the hell do to. Do I ask her for a letter of rec anyway (she most certianly was NOT impressed with my half-assed report about the social meaning of the tomb of Augustus)? Do I give up on grad school for now and focus on baby-making (if I get preggo within the next few months I’d have to wait and reapply anyway…but my plan was to try and get in just in case I’m NOT pregnant).

Everything else is lined up perfectly. I have good grades (this term didn’t hurt my GPA, belive it or not), I have two STELLER letters of rec already lined up. Oh, and I have an internship lined up for this Summer (a recent deveopment). I even narrowed down a possible thesis (the hardest part for me); I think I want to sudy taboos pertaining to gender roles.

All I need is one more letter, to mail off my second applicaiton packet, and to go and meet with the graduate department at my new school of choice (and have an interview with the museum I am aiming at interning with).

I can’t believe I came this far and then screwed it up this badly. I don’t know if its the TTC or the fact that my Granie is dying (most likely both)…but I KNEW how important it was to impress this lady and I could have…but I blew it. Now what??

4 Responses to “Obsessed Student Syndrome”

  1. Vanessa December 22, 2007 at 10:09 pm #

    Could it be better then you think? Maybe she’s just a difficult grader and a B to her is good 🙂 I would ask her anyway. If you dont like what she writes you dont have to use it.

  2. Hopeful December 22, 2007 at 11:24 pm #

    I think you are beating yourself up, take a big breath, its on grade, she konws how brillant you are already, she knows that you are dealing with something, that same teacher has taught you throughout this whole class not just this one paper 😉 Chin up girl you can do it. Ask for the rec, what can she say except yes or no, either won’t kill you???

  3. twondra December 23, 2007 at 12:32 pm #

    I’d ask anyway sweetie. Like Vanessa said, it could be better than you think. And you wouldn’t have to use it if you didn’t want to. Keep us posted.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I’m glad it helped you. I can definitely understand where you’re coming from. If you ever wanna talk, I’m here…just a click away. 🙂

  4. futurewise December 23, 2007 at 12:49 pm #

    I agree with above comments… Go for it, girl!

Leave a Reply

