Muuahahahah…

20 Dec

Last night, not even 5 minutes after hitting “publhish” on that last post, I went to the potty room AND (drum roll please): SPOTTING! Yay.

Then I proceeded to go to sleep and dream about moving into my new place, and in my dreams there was a cute little baby in my arms. I think I am going to have to teach my subconscious how to read a chart! I wouldn’t mind feeling like I was knocked up – if there was any ACTUAL possibility of that being the case. LOL ::sigh::

I am thinking about ordering 3 vials next time…but I am not sure that that would even really help. I might have to get 4 in order to actually cover all my bases and YIKES that would be a lot of $$. I’m not sure what else to do though, since last month I Oed the day after my first positive OPK (which, BTW would have been the FIRST day of + if I were going based solely off my fertility monitor) but this month it wasn’t until 3 days later! So, next month I would have to do four; one a day starting the evening of the first positive OPK. I guess Hubby & I will have to discuss that more after Christmas.

I’m not sure if I have blogged about this before or not but Hubby and I DO have a KD who we are thinking about switching to eventually if this doesn’t work. We found him on a website for finding known donors but have decided to go this route for now a) because it is safer (STD & custody wise, etc) and b) because we want to meet him before proceeding and he will not be able to make it out to Cali until after the holidays are over – and we wanted to start trying sooner.

I have a lot of mixed feelings about both options (annonomoys & KD). With frozen donor sperm I am kind of freaked out by the idea of carrying a baby and having NO friggin clue what the child looks like…not that it matters, it doesn’t. I will love it no matter WHAT it looks like. It’s the not knowing that kills me. I also don’t think its fair the the children don’t get to know anything about their donors either. They should at least get a picture (IMHO). SO – for those reasons I really like having a KD. I have been emailing back and forth with this gentleman for several months now. He is very educated, VERY nice, and is of a very, very niffty ethnic minority (I’m still debating how much info I want to share about him – I wouldn’t want anyone to be able to figure out who he is…I’m sure he wouldn’t appreciate that very much! lol).

My concerns about using a KD, however, include AIDS, them deciding that they want custody one day, AND the fact that he lives in another state and we would have to mail the sperm ourselves. They make kits for doing this but I have no idea if they would actually work or not…they consist of a egg medium and some ice packs, then the packages get overnighted. It is a lot more affordable though….

7 Responses to “Muuahahahah…”

  1. twondra December 21, 2007 at 12:05 pm #

    It’s a tough decision and one that only you can make and be comfortable with. Everyone is different. Hang in there, sweetie! Hopefully you won’t have to make the decision because this is a BFP! 🙂

  2. Michell December 21, 2007 at 1:30 pm #

    I tried a KD one month and it was someone I know very well who offered to help. I likely would have kept using him if I hadn’t went with a doctor but even saying that I was still a bit nervous about using him. It was a very odd feeling. Good luck with whatever you decide.

  3. RainbowMomma December 21, 2007 at 5:22 pm #

    It is a very hard decision whether or not to use a KD. We did for my daughter, but it was someone we knew very very well, who already had kids and did not want any more. People ask me now don’t I know anyone around here to donate for me, btu I don;t easily trust people. I don’t know anyone well enough near where I live to sue their sperm.

    I do have friends (my midwife friend that I sometimes talk about) who used a known donor they met through a match up website. They have a situation that works really well for their family.

    Only YOU can figure out what’s best for YOU. I guess whatever gives you your happy baby! Good luck with your next try, whatever way you go.

  4. RainbowMomma December 21, 2007 at 5:24 pm #

    Oh, and by the way, I USE sperm, I don’t SUE sperm.

  5. Mommi Tutu December 21, 2007 at 6:46 pm #

    I’m confused – you think that’s implantation spotting or Aunt Flo? Sorry to be dense!

  6. Vanessa December 21, 2007 at 10:59 pm #

    Spotting is very promising 🙂 Keep the hope alive! Ive been thinking about using a known donor too, but its really hard to decide and there are a lot more strings attached.

  7. La La December 22, 2007 at 12:53 am #

    I doubt its implantation spotting because it happens almost every month around this time…I was hoping this month would be totally different. =( I think it was too early for implantation spotting anyway..but we’ll see! 😉

Leave a Reply

