When life hands you lemons…

4 Dec

…What the heck do you do with them?

Hubby and I have lived in our current home (they are called condos, but we are renting ours so is more of an apartment really) since we got married almost 3 years ago. When we moved in we had the SWEETEST neighbors (and older – as in mid 70’s perhaps) couple. Over the years we have developed a casual friendship with them, saying “hello” when we pass, stopping for the occasional extended conversation, and I have always sent Hubby over with a plate of whatever I happen to be baking at the moment (I bake when I get bored, hence, WAY TOO MANY cookies/cakes/etc). =)

Sadly, our complex was sold a year ago and the new owners are jacking the rent sky high and so we have all been forced to abandon ship. Our lease is not up until the end of January. PLEASE don’t remind me how soon that is, I have my head firmly planted in the sand and refuse to even acknowledge that there is a problem approaching until AFTER finals. Thank you very much.

Our friends lease was up this week, however, and when they moved all of their furniture out they asked Hubby to help them. As a thank you they gave us a HUGE bag of lemons from their new back yard.

A few days later they asked us if we had seen their cat whom they had not been able to capture when they left – Hubby promptly snagged the lil guy and drove it over to their new home. More lemons. (he, he, he)

Now. I LOVE lemons…I put them on/in everything and even eat them plain ALL the time. I have eaten a few but we have so many that there is just no way that I am going to be able to consume them at this rate on not waste (and we all know what a crime it would be to waste FREE lemons!).

So I need your help. What can I do with the lemons? I need suggestions please! I have already made lemon “melt away” cookies (meh, they are so/so),
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
and lemon curd:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Which I LOVE…but I need to get some ice cream to eat it with. 🙂

AND I still have this many left:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I considered lemonchillo (sp?) but I don’t have the patience (or the huge ceramic jars). So I really need some ideas…what would you do?

7 Responses to “When life hands you lemons…”

  1. twondra December 4, 2007 at 12:28 pm #

    Wow! What a pile! What about fresh lemonade? That’s my favorite!

    Keep us posted! I’d love to hear other people’s ideas, too. 🙂

  2. Michell December 4, 2007 at 5:22 pm #

    I don’t really have any ideas but wow, those cookies sound wonderful.

  3. Trace December 4, 2007 at 7:02 pm #

    Mohitos!! Search the food network for dishes that require lemon juice. 1 lemon make 2 tablespoons of juice (I think).

    What are you going to do? Are you guys looking for a new apartment?

  4. JJ December 4, 2007 at 7:35 pm #

    Mmmm fresh leomanade is always good. Lemon squares are great too! YUM! Can I come over?!

  5. noswimmers December 5, 2007 at 4:35 am #

    My vote is for lemonade–MMMM, even in the winter there’s nothing like fresh lemonade!!

  6. Hopeful December 6, 2007 at 2:53 am #

    Whats lemon curd? Another crazy American thing? What about squeezing the juice into ice cube trays and freezing for another day?

  7. Mommi Tutu December 6, 2007 at 1:57 pm #

    Looks tasty!
    Email me at mommitutuatyahoodotcom and I’ll send you the butternut squash recipe . . .:)

Leave a Reply

