This is what happens when scientests try to have babies…

30 Nov

They spend countless hours researching statistics/methods/possible complications/possible solutions to said complications…and then they finally purchase a small fortune worth of medical supplies, herbal remedies and a friggin microscope. Yeah. That’s me.

With all of that I should feel pretty good about try #2, right? And I do…well, I did.

I really hate to admit this because I am afraid you all are going to think I am a total nutter – but its driving me nuts and so I just have to tell SOMEONE.

After I got the microscope (which I purchased to make sure that there were actually SWIMMERS in my extremely expensive sperm bank vials)…I got the bright idea to check hubby’s. I know his count is supposed to be SUPER low but I figured I could find one or two and that way I would feel confident that the microscope was powerful enough and that I would be able to check my sample(s) when they arrived. Thing is – his sample had LOTS of swimmers. Uh, yeah.

Noooow, when we had the semanalysis done he DID have 2 million – it was just that 90% of them were abnormal or not moving. And, most of the ones I saw WERE swimming only in circles. However, there were also QUITE a few that were doing exactly what they are supposed to do.

We only had the semanalysis done once and not the 3 times that they recommend because it was pretty much just to confirm what we already feared to be true, and it did. But what if it was wrong!? What if it’s me? Even if the count is low but I was able to see sperm that were swimming quickly in a straight line shouldn’t that have been enough to get me pregnant after 3 years of trying?

I don’t know what to do now. I am on CD 2 – I should be ordering swimmers right now, but am I wasting money? I know I am not a doctor and that my stupid microscope from Toys R Us is not an advanced medical diagnostic device…but…CRAP! What do I do next???

8 Responses to “This is what happens when scientests try to have babies…”

  1. Michell November 30, 2007 at 11:32 pm #

    Not really sure what to say. You could always make an appointment to get checked out, they would likely start with labs and HSG but that can get very expensive and may not give you any additional information. Good luck.

  2. Hekateris December 1, 2007 at 1:55 am #

    What can it hurt to have another SA done? I know it’s money, but better safe than sorry, right?

  3. Hopeful December 1, 2007 at 9:28 am #

    CRAZY, CRAZY, CRAZY WOMAN! My hubby also has swimmer but they are abnormal and can’t swim to save their lives however the good ones can swim for hours ………… but thats just it, they swim for hours, once they get to the egg they don’t know what to do to penerate the egg. The doctors words were “their incompetent” I love it an remind him often, in a loving way of course.

  4. twondra December 1, 2007 at 12:06 pm #

    Sweetie, I just wanted to let you know that I’m thinking of you. I think getting a SA is a good idea and it sounds like you got a lot of advice from the girls on the board.

    Hang in there…we’re here for ya. ((((HUGS))))

  5. Trace December 1, 2007 at 12:59 pm #

    Why not do both? If 3 analyses are recommended, I would think that would take longer than the time between now and the big O, so could you try this month w/the donor while he gets retested?

  6. noswimmers December 2, 2007 at 3:54 am #

    I agree with the others–I would get another SA, preferably at another clinic. It would be worth the $ if you found out you don’t need to order any swimmers! 🙂

  7. futurewise December 2, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    Go for the SA. Also make and inquiry about ICSI. It is a good option for you, but it is expensive too. But the probability of success is higher than with insemination and plus you can have your hubby’s baby…

  8. JJ December 3, 2007 at 3:51 pm #

    I go around on this very same merry go round a lot–I did have the hsg done, which turned out OK–but now I have the fear that there might be some endo. But yes, I agree–no harm in getting another SA–we are considering doing the same-BUT,
    Mook’s swimmers are just plain lazy 😉

Leave a Reply

