CRAP!!

13 Nov

POAS is NOT making me happy anymore!!! I have been planning on doing my insems at 15 and 24 hours. This morning my fertility monitor went from “low” to “high” fertility (but not “peak”) and my microscope showed full ferning (yesterday it was only partial).

Since reading this study on OPKs and insem timing : http://humrep.oxfordjournals.org/cgi/content/full/20/9/2542
I had decided to use my monitor in the AM as it recommends and then use OPKs in the PM so that I am sure to catch my surge as close to when it actually happens as possible.

To recap: around noon today monitor = “high”….
9pm tonight: OPK came out POSITIVE. Very, very positive.

Shit. I am not ready for this. Crap, crap, crap. I thought I had 5 more days….is crying an appropriate response here??

So now I don’t know if I should start inseming tomorrow morning or tomorrow night!?! I guess it will depend on what the monitor says in the morning.

If it says “peak” I’ll insem in the morning. If it says “high” I’ll throw it in the oven and set it to broil.

4 Responses to “CRAP!!”

  1. twondra November 13, 2007 at 12:08 pm #

    It’ll all work out. I can’t remember, but is this your first month using the monitor? If it is, then it’s still learning your body and the first couple months aren’t as accurate as it should be, so I would go by the OPKs and go from there. I’d do what HopingForBFP says. Also, I posted this on the board, but I’ll post here too….do you use first morning urine for the monitor? They recommend that. Good luck! Keep us posted!

  2. futurewise November 13, 2007 at 2:19 pm #

    O is always so uncertain without ultrasound check. Good luck and I hope that you will laugh at the situation when you think about it, in 9 months, with huge belly. (It’ll be nice anecdote)

  3. Michell November 13, 2007 at 5:32 pm #

    Hang in there, I know this is crazy but it’ll all be ok. If this is the first month of using the monitor you may not get a peak on the monitor but don’t freak out. That doesn’t mean your body isn’t peaking, just that the monitor isn’t used to you yet. Trust the other signs also. I don’t know how many vials you have to do AI with but I always did them about 6 hours, 12 hours and 24 hours after positive opk and realized this last month that I was likely doing it way way way to early. I did AI this last month like 40 hours past positive opk and 36 hours past hcg trigger and had a positive hpt although very briefly. I would recommend like 24 hours past positive opk. Good luck.

  4. Trace November 13, 2007 at 6:40 pm #

    I was monitored this month, but last month they told me when I got the positive I was to come in the next day for the IUI. I also have the fertility monitor. This month it stayed at high fertility for a number of days and then today it jumped to peak (did shot after monitor testing, but tested at night and got +).

Leave a Reply

