"Our Hope" (or "how I know I’m really nuts")

8 Nov

Two things along our TTC journey set the stage for this little neurosis I am about to share with you. The first was our therapist (Hubby and I went to see a marriage counselor a few times when we first decided to pursue DI, though she ended up telling us that we were wasting our money because our marriage was very “solid” and there was nothing that she could see that we needed to work on). She told us that in her country (she was Asian, I didn’t ask where she was from though) that when couples couldn’t have children of their own the doctors would recommend that they adopt and then, more often than not, they would also get pregnant. She said that this was because the spirits of the children needed to be made to feel welcomed in the couples home before a soul would enter the woman’s body and she would become pregnant. Before you start to wonder what type of whacked-out-nutter-hippie-therapist we were seeing – she said all of this with a chuckle – not as actual advice. But I thought that it was an interesting theory (and obviously holds SOME truth in some way because we all know people who got pregnant as soon as they adopted).

The second influence was that when I was applying for the credit card I am using for DI I had my choice of a whole rainbow of colors to chose for the card itself. Thinking about what I was going to be using it for I did a quick Google search for what different colors mean and found that green means “fertility”. ::grin::

The baby’s spirit must feel welcomed into your home for pregnancy to occur + green means fertility (plus it is unisex) = Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Yeah. Hubby thinks I’ve really lost it (I prolly have), although I would like to point out that HE was the one who chose the socks! lol I figured if the baby needs to feel welcomed then a big fuzzy blanket and some other snuggly things to come home from the hospital in should do it…right? Hey, it can’t hurt and it gives me hope. I am so afraid that this baby is never going to happen…but looking at those things makes me feel like it is possible.

Oh wait. I’m not done yet. =) Have you ever seen the movie “What the [bleep] Do We Know?”?? In that movie they show a study done in Japan where two glasses of water were placed in a subway; one with the word “love” printed on it and one with the word “hate” printed on it. At the end of the specified period of time water from each glass was placed under a microscope and the one which had “love” written on it has molecules which had arranged themselves into beautiful patterns (like a snowflake) while the one which had “hate” had only disjointed, non-patterned molecules. Guess what we are putting on our tank when it arrives? Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

More info:

Website with Pics
What the Bleep Do We Know
Book

Yeah, I know…I have to just sit back and laugh at myself too. But hey, they say being positive is half the battle. So? Go ahead. Tell me I’m crazy. Hubby already does, I’m ready for it. ::grins::

10 Responses to “"Our Hope" (or "how I know I’m really nuts")”

  1. JJ November 8, 2007 at 10:03 pm #

    You most definitely are not nuts–sounds to me you are pretty solid=) Bringing good things (signs/clothes) into your life only creates more positive vibes, and the fact that it gives you HOPE is well worth it=) I love it!

  2. twondra November 9, 2007 at 11:57 am #

    You’re not crazy at all. 🙂 I’ve picked up baby stuff, too. It gives you hope.

  3. Sitting in Silence November 9, 2007 at 8:38 pm #

    Hi
    I am new to your blog. It brings back alot of memories for me…

    I brought loads of clothes before I was even pregnant. I am sure it created good vibes.
    For wha it’s worth, I was also told not to dust under the bed that DH and I slept in…

    Not sure if it’s an old wives tale though…

    Danielle.

  4. La La November 9, 2007 at 8:44 pm #

    LOL, well…if I can drink cough syrup, stuff myself with pineapple and use OTC progesterone cream that I might not even need then I can sure as heck not dust under the bed! I’ll do anything to up my chances…even if they are old wives tales. Any little bit helps! Thank you.

  5. twondra November 10, 2007 at 12:07 pm #

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog and for the link for the meds. That was so sweet! Thanks! (((HUGS)))

  6. Michell November 10, 2007 at 10:20 pm #

    Nope, totally not crazy. I’ve done much the same thing. On my first home AI I had various props/good luck charms around and have a good luck bracelet etc that I wear frequently. I will happily try anything that might influence the universe, God or whatever in my favor.

  7. twondra November 11, 2007 at 10:01 pm #

    Hey girl! I just wanted to say thanks so much for the encouragement. It means so much to me! It made me feel better, so thanks!

  8. From Here To Maternity November 12, 2007 at 5:17 pm #

    I think that’s a great idea, it gave me positive vibes just looking at those little clothes. I think I might even do that myself.

  9. noswimmers November 12, 2007 at 10:15 pm #

    I don’t think you’re crazy–not at all. What a beautiful way to create the “warm fuzzies” we all need to get through this. I might have to go pick up a fuzzy green baby blanket of my own! 🙂
    BTW…thanks for the compliment on my blog, it means a lot.

  10. seraphyna May 13, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    omgosh, i think you’re teh only one who’s also watched that movie. It’s one of my favourites….

    have you seen Waking Life?

Leave a Reply

