These are a few of my favorite things….

4 Oct

Because my posts thus far have all been pretty depressing (sorry about that)…I decided to make a list of the things that bring me joy (some little, some big). I am normally a really upbeat person (even when times get a bit tough)…but lately things have been more than a “bit” tough (its more than just the infertility stuff right now). Anyhow…on with the happy! =)

In no particular order:
1) Where I live. Yes – I can barely afford a one bedroom apartment and I have a college degree…but I am 30 minutes from the snow, 30 minutes from the beach, and hour from LA, and hour form San Diego, 3 hours from Vegas and (drum roll please…) 30 minutes from DISNEYLAND!
2) Disneyland (duh). I have had a season pass for the past 7 years or so…my husband is sick to death of the place but I still get as excited as I did when I was 5 years old. The best thing ever is to go on a rainy day…you basically have the whole park to yourself!
3) My babies (I have three Chihuahuas). They ARE my children right now, particularly Onnie who I raised from a puppy (the other two I adopted as older dogs). I spoil them rotten and there is nothing better than being snuggled by them and seeing their happy faces when I get home from a long day.
4) My husband. I know most people love their spouses…but I really did luck out! I know I can be a handful sometimes (wink, wink) but my husband always puts up with me no matter how bitchy I get. In fact, he treats me like a princess even when I am acting like a mega-beast. Handsome, sweet, romantic, smart AND nice as hell? Talk about good luck!
5) Sushi
6) My best friend Anne, ALWAYS there for me even though she lives on the other side of the country.
7) Travel
8) A good book will do WONDERS for a bad mood (for me at least).
9) My job. I LOVE my job. Of course, every job has aspects that are less enjoyable than others…and I do occasionally have really, REALLY bad days…but over all I LOVE my job. I get paid fairly well, I make my own hours, the company is supportive and all of my coworkers are the nicest people I have ever met. How often does that happen? This is the only job I have ever had that I enjoyed this much….and I have had QUITE a few.
10) Never underestimate the power of junk food (sour patch kids or sour strings, chocolate covered nuts, white chocolate, coconut, soda, starbucks frappichinos, ice cream, brownies…I feel better just thinking about it).
11) The beach. Just sitting at the beach and watching the waves is incredibly soothing.
12) Anthropology. Love it. Although I love social work I don’t know how much I would enjoy studying it….but studying Anthro is like getting a degree in doing what I love already!
13) Halloween. Scary movies, costumes, candy, haunted houses…who could ask for a better holiday??
14) Shopping. Obviously.
15) Rainy days! Waaay too rare out here! I wouldn’t want it to rain every day…but more often would be nice.
Eh, that’s enough for now. I feel better already.

4 Responses to “These are a few of my favorite things….”

  1. futurewise October 4, 2007 at 10:08 am #

    1, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14. Those are my favourites! Very nice and positive post!

  2. Trace October 4, 2007 at 4:49 pm #

    I think it is SO IMPORTANT to count your blessings. I do it when we’re in the car and Sweetness can’t escape (hee hee) and I realize how lucky I am and how I have a lot of things that others strive to achieve.

    Yes, I love sushi too!

  3. JJ October 4, 2007 at 8:49 pm #

    I needed to read a happy list today–so thanks! And hello=) I came to you from Mel’s–and I am the “male factor” clicker for Mel’s updates, so Ill be checking in on ya-!=)

  4. Hekateris October 5, 2007 at 2:47 am #

    Hello! Good luck with finding your donor. I love the idea of KD, I hope you find a way for it to work out completely.

    Oro
    birchandmaple.blogs.com

Leave a Reply

