Oh Mom!

16 Sep

So when Hubby and I first came to the decision to try and find a known donor (KD) I wasn’t sure if I wanted to tell anyone or not. Everyone knows by now that we cannot have our own children and that we will likely have to use a donor but that is odd enough in itself to anyone who has never had to go through that sort of thing. I was afraid that if I told anyone that we had actually decided to search for someone one the internet and meet them in person before using them for their DNA – and that oh yeah, by the way, we don’t want to do a quarantine – that they would promptly run screaming. If I had not come to this decision personally, I might think it a bit gross I suppose.

Anyhow, I did end up deciding to bounce the idea off of a few people just to see what type of response I was going to get. I told two friends of mine who had the misfortune of happening to call me yesterday while I happened to be in a sharing sort of mood. Much to my surprise (and utter joy) they took it quite well and expressed understanding at our being uncomfortable with ordering anonymous vials of frozen sperm at unreasonable prices with not-so-promising prospects for success donated men who could have a third eye growing on their foreheads for all we friggin knew. Thus feeling quite brave after these promising disclosures to my buds I – deep breath – decided to tell Mom.

Ah, Mom. This is not Mom-In-Law, mind you, but Mom. The woman who made my life miserable from age 11-19 and intermittently ever since. She took it a lot better than I was expecting, but that really means nothing because she took our wanting to adopt CBE (Cutest Boy Ever) pretty well at first too. (I’ll tell that story soon, I promise.) It did crack me up though; as I was briefly explaining to her that we had found someone that we liked, that we wanted to use a KD, and how we wanted to go about doing it (IUI) she interrupted with “Well…(long pause)…can’t you just use a turkey baster?”. Ha! I needed a good laugh, too cute. I explained to her that yes we could but that a) Hubby is uncomfortable doing it at home b) IUI has a much higher success rate and c) having a doctor involved may offer us more protection legally (see links to your left). So we’ll see how well she actually handles this information once she has actually had a chance to digest it a bit.

2 Responses to “Oh Mom!”

  1. Trace September 16, 2007 at 1:47 pm #

    My husband is also infertile & has one kidney. We are doing DI. I hope you don’t mind if I follow your journey.
    Trace
    http://1hardyswimmer.blogspot.com/

  2. futurewise September 20, 2007 at 7:34 am #

    I know the situation you are in… “A turkey baster?” I’m not sure I’d ever talk to that woman again… Best of luck with KD and CBE adoption!

Leave a Reply

